Rye, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
Rye, Sussex
Rye St Mary the Virgin Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rye
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye PLU
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RYE (St. Mary), a cinque-port, borough, market-town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Gostrow, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 63 miles (S. E. by E.) from London. This place, which belonged originally to the monastery of Feschamp, in Normandy, was at an early date, together with Winchelsea, annexed to the cinque-ports of England, in the charters granted to which these two towns are invariably styled "ancient towns." The church is a spacious cruciform structure, partly Norman and partly in the early English style, with a central tower, in which is a clock of peculiar mechanical construction, said to have been taken from the Spanish Armada, and given to the town by Queen Elizabeth. The east window is in the later English style, of large dimensions and of elegant design, and has been embellished with some stained glass. A monastery of friars of the order of St. Augustine was founded a short time before the Dissolution; the principal remains have been converted into a storehouse.[1]

A history of the Parish church is available from Sussex Parish churches Rye St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The church, begun in the 12th century, has a famous 16th century clock with an 18-foot pendulum. Instead of striking the hour, a pair of gilded cherubs strike the quarters. Inside the church are stained glass windows from the firm of William Morris.

Rye Church Clock Sussex.jpg

Rye Harbor Holy Spirit was a chapelry within this parish created in 1850 Rye Harbor

Rye Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Augustinian Friary
Baptist Church
Bethel Chapel
Congregational Independent Chapel
Former Augustine Chapel
Former Baptist Church
Former Carmelite Chapel
Former Chapel Bridge Street
Former Congregational Church
Kingdom Hall Jehovahs Witnesses
Methodist Church 1852-1939-1945 see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Methodist Church dates from 1900 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) includes IGI Batch
Rye Cemetery
St Anthony of Padua (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See list of places of worship in Rother

See also Rye East Sussex Wikipedia

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Rye, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Rye, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1538-1893
1682-1881, 1888-1893

SOPC Undefined



Rye Sussex Parish Online Clerks(OPC)

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rye

The East and West Sussex Record offices also have deposited Parish Registers.

East Sussex Record Office Website information

 West Sussex Record Office Website information

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Occupations

Rye Apprentices 1602-1645.  A list of apprentices giving date, name, master, trade and reference. Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian vol.6, Sept 1974, pages 164-169, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su

Rye Apprentices 1602-1645 Part 2,  A list of apprentices giving date, name of Apprentice, name of Master, Trade and Reference. in Sussex Family Historian vol.7, Dec. 1974 pages 192-195, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Poor Law Unions

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,122 times.