Sabine Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Sabine Parish

Guide to Sabine Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Sabine Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Sabine Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 7, 1843
County Seat Many
Courthouse
LASabinecourthouse.jpg
Address 400 South Capital
Many, LA 71449
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Sabine Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Sabine Parish Courthouse
400 Court Street; PO Box 419;
Many, LA 71449-0419
Phone: 318.256.6223 

Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, land,
probate and court records from 1843.[1]


Sabine Parish Police Jury
1227 Hwy 1218
Noble, LA
(sponsored site by Sabine Parish Chamber of Commerce)

History

  • Named for Sabine River and Sabine Free State (which existed 1806 to 1821 per agreement between Spanish Texas and United States after Louisiana Purchase. This area was a disputed area. - Wikipedia)

Parent Parish

  • 1843--Sabine Parish was created 7 March 1843 from Natchitoches Parish.
    Parish seat: Many [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

  • Towns: Many | Zwolle
  • Villages: Converse | Fisher | Florien | Noble | Pleasant Hill

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

De Soto | Natchitoches | Vernon | Texas counties: Newton | Sabine | Shelby

Resources

Lasabine.png

African American


Cemeteries

 





Census

Census Pop.
190015,421
191019,87428.9%
192020,7134.2%
193024,11016.4%
194023,586−2.2%
195020,880−11.5%
196018,564−11.1%
197018,6380.4%
198025,28035.6%
199022,646−10.4%
200023,4593.6%
201024,2333.3%
Sabine Parish Census Data[2]


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sabine Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Sabine Parish.

Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.

Louisiana Military History Online

Newspapers

 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sabine Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Sabine Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Sabine Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 14:48.
  • This page has been accessed 5,792 times.