Saddleworth, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Saddleworth

Guide to Saddleworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saddleworth, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Saddleworth Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SADDLEWORTH cum Quick, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Rochdale , wapentake of Agbrigg and Morley, W. riding of York, 12 miles (N. E. by E.) from Manchester, and 12 (S. W. by W.) from Huddersfield.. There are places of worship for Independents at Delph, Upper Mill, and Spring-head; and for Wesleyans at Delph, Upper Mill, and Bagulay.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Saddleworth St Chad's was originally a chapelry standing within the large parish boundary of Rochdale St Chad's just across the Yorkshire/Lancashire border (in Lancashire). It was a parochial chapelry in that it held some ecclesiastical responsibility and oversight over several nearby chapelries, on the Yorkshire side of this (Rochdale) parish, including Delph, Dobcross, Friermere, and Lydgate. The following is a list of all known chapelries lying within the ancient parish boundary of St Chad's Rochdale, including those lying on the Yorkshire-side of the county border:
Online Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Rochdale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PRs= England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free
HATH = HathiTrust.org
IGI = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SADDLEWORTH ST CHAD CHAPELRY (1613) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812
AC 1813-1888 1813-1888 1754-1930 1754-1930 1813-1886 1813-1886
BIVRI
1778-1788, 1792-1793, 1795-1837

FS PRs 1635-1704, 1712-1767 1635-1704, 1712-1767 1635-1704, 1712-1767
HATH 1613-1751
1613-1751
1613-1751
HATH 1751-1800

1751-1800

1751-1800

IGI 1613-1846

1613-1837

1800-1827

JOIN None
1613-1751

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Saddleworth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Rochdale page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851.

The original parish registers of Rochdale St Chad's ancient parish and most of its several chapelries' registers--including Saddleworth chapelry are held at the Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester M2 5PD.

FamilySearch has also microfilmed these original registers from 1613-1935 and they are available by visiting any one of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers, worldwide.

SADDLEWORTH ST THOMAS Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1813-1850 1845-1892 1834-1992
Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464247.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor:  Please add any additional websites not listed or mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-4. Date accessed: 16 April 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 5,616 times.