Saffron Hill, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Parishes

Guide to Saffron Hill, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saffron Hill, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Holborn PLU
Registration District Holborn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SAFFRON-HILL, a liberty and a sub-district in Holborn district, Middlesex; all forming a dense and central portion of the metropolis.[1]

Additional information:

St Peter Saffron Hill Holborn was created in the year 1839 and as a district church, lay within the environs and boundaries of the large civil parish of St Andrew Holborn.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438785.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Saffron Hill in Holborn on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales , 1870-72.fckLRAdapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,030 times.