Sagadahoc County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Sagadahoc County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Sagadahoc County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Sagadahoc County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Sagadahoc County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 14, 1854
County Seat Bath
Courthouse
Address Sagadahoc County Courthouse
PO Box 246
Bath, ME 04530-0246
Phone: 207.443.8200
Sagadahoc County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Clerk Superior Court has court records.
Register of Probate has probate records from 1854.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1854. [1]

History

Parent County

Created 14 March 1854 from Lincoln County. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineCumberland CountyAndroscoggin CountyKennebec CountyLincoln CountySagadahoc CountyTopshamBowdoinRichmondPerkins TownshipLong IslandYarmouthPortlandCumberlandBowdoinhamWoolwichBathWest BathPhippsburgArrowsicGeorgetownBrunswickHarpswellChebeague IslandFreeportDurhamLisbonLewistonSabattusGreeneWalesLeedsMonmouthLichfieldWest GardinerGardinerFarmingdaleChelseaRandolphPittstonWhitefieldJeffersonAlnaDresdenWiscassetNewcastleEdgecombWestport IslandBoothbayBoothbay HarborSouthport
Modern town borders in Sagadahoc County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Extinct Town 

Unorganized Territory

Communities

  • Richmond
  • Topsham

Village:

  • Iceboro

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sagadahoc County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sagadahoc County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sagadahoc County, Maine:

- 3rd Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company A

Newspapers

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sagadahoc County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at [1]

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sagadahoc County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 6,177 times.