Saint Vincent and the Grenadines GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Guide to Saint Vincent and the Grenadines ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beginning Research

Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community

Simplicity Beach, Mustique in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.jpg
Independent island nation in the Windward Islands in the Lesser Antilles in the West Indies. On the eastern edge of the Caribbean Sea. Northeast of Venezuela and west of Barbados. See the CIA World Factbook at
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines in its region.png



Sovereignty. England claimed but did not occupy St. Vincent in 1627, it was considered neutral by 1660, and Carib Indians repelled European settlements until France founded Barrouallie in 1719. Great Britain 1722, neutral 1748, Great Britain and France 1756, Great Britain 1763, France 1779, Great Britain 1783, and made fully independent in 1979.[1] [2]

Subdivisions. Saint Vincent and the Grendadines contain 6 parishes:

  • Charlotte
  • Grenadines
  • Saint Andrew
  • Saint David
  • Saint George
  • Saint Patrick

Research Tools

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


  1. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 8 October 2015).
  2. Christina K. Schaefer, Genealogcial Encyclopedia of the Colonial Americas: a Complete Digest of the Records of All the Countries of the Western Hemisphere (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1998), 128. WorldCat 39622039; FHL Ref Book 929.11812 D26s.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 October 2015, at 16:32.
  • This page has been accessed 9,712 times.