Salcombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Salcombe, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Salcombe, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stanborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge PLU
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1802
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SALCOMBE, a chapelry, in the parish of Malborough, union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Stanborough, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (S.) from Kingsbridge. The chapel, originally erected prior to the year 1401, was rebuilt in 1801, by subscription, and is now a district church: the living is in the gift of the Vicar of West Alvington. There are also places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 31 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 14:51.
  • This page has been accessed 587 times.