Salehurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Salehurst, Sussex
Salehurst +St+Mary+the+Virgin East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henhurst
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SALEHURST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Ticehurst, hundred of Henhurst, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (N.) from Battle. A Cistercian abbey was founded here in 1176, by Alured de St. Martin and Queen Adeliza, and flourished till the Dissolution. The river Rother flows through the parish; and the road to Hastings passes by the villages of Robert's-Bridge and HurstGreen: at the latter beautiful place, petty-sessions are held monthly. The church is a handsome structure in the early and later English styles, with a square embattled tower, and contains some remains of stained glass. There are places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Rotherbridge, Robertsbridge, and Hurst Green within the parish boundary. Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbor Hawkhurst, Kent The civil parish is salehurst and Robertsbridge, see Salehurst and Robertsbridge Wikipedia

From this parish due to the distance from the parish church a mission room was developed at Robertsbridge.

A history of the church and Mission room Salehurst St Mary and Robertsbridge Mission

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Salehurst Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Rother Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records

Salehurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Salehurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1669-1730, 1782-1881
1575-1812

SOPC 1782-1804
1806-1812
1782-1789

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Salehurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.

Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-4. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,351 times.