Salford Christ Church, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Salford Christ Church, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Christ Church in Acton-square, Salford was created as a district church in the year 1830. It was one of seven such district churches built to handle the burdgeoning growth of population in that township. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of Manchester St Mary and St Denys (later to become the Cathedral Church). Christ Church history is associated with the challenge to the authority of the Collegiate Church of Manchester (see external link "Why so many marriages in Manchester Cathedral?"). Read more... 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online transcriptions exist for Christ Church Salford and its sister chapelries (total of twelve in this large suburb township in Manchester ancient parish.
Displayed below are links to the considerable online content for Christ Church and most of those chapelries comprising Salford; note the range of years as well:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes|
|FS||1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864||1709-1882||1709-1854|
|SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|FS||1842-1897||1842-1930 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes|
|LBMD||1838-1900||1838-1940 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish|
|FS||1865-1936 - part.||1866-1933 - part.||None|
|LBMD||1866-1900 - part.||1866-1940||None|
|SALFORD ST MATHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|FS||1826-1914||1838-1935 - part.||1833-1840|
|FREG||1826-1864 - part.||1865-1891 - part.||1834-1888|
|SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes|
|FS||1794-1931 - part.||1838-1957 - part.||1805-1865 (part.)|
|SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes|
|FS||1869-1921 - part.||1869-1940 - part.||1949-1968 - part.|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of Manchester Parish's (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
FamilySearch has also microfilmed the original parish (chapelry) registers, for the years 1831-1946 for Christ Church (Salford, Lancashire). [Microfilm of original records in possession of Archives Centre, Salford]:
Bishop's transcripts for Salford area churches, 1635-1889 includes the following chapelries from the town of Salford, (parish of Manchester): Trinity, Christchurch, St. Matthias, St. Phillip and St. Stephen.
The title board for item 1 has incorrect dates. It should read, 1635- 1777.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/217-219
| Baptisms and burials of Trinity Church, 1635-1641, 1665-1684, 1721-1826; marriages, 1635-1754
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1545654 Items 1-3
| Baptisms and burials of Trinity Church, 1826-1836; baptisms, 1885-1889; baptisms of St. Matthias, 1842-1846; baptisms and burials of St. Philip, 1833-1840; baptisms and burials of St. Stephen, 1808-1844 (includes marriages from 1838)
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1545654 Items 4-5
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438737. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- for brief history of the Collegiate Church and disputes with developing parishes in the area by Henry Mantell
- Biography of Hugh Stowell 1799-1865
- for extract from online book concerning Hugh Stowell
- Obituray of Canon Hugh Stowell
- Stowell Family History
- This page was last modified on 16 September 2013, at 04:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,031 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More