Salford St Matthias, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Salford St Matthias, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Salford St Matthias, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Salford PLU
Registration District Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccles
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

St Matthias Salford was created as a district church in the year 1842. It is near Broughton bridge, Salford and was built by the Ten-Churches Association of Manchester to handle the burgeoning growth of population in that township. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of Manchester St Mary and St Denys (The Cathedral Church). A building formerly belonging to the Methodist New Connexion, and to which a new front has been added in the Norman style, was consecrated as a church in November 1844; it is now called Christ Church, and is situated in Blackburn-street.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Online transcriptions exist for Salford St Matthias' Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries comprising this very large township suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St Denys).

From the web sites displayed below, you will find the links to the available ranges of years for which online data (transcriptions) are found:


AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


SALFORD ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1842-1846 None 1842-1846
LOPC 1842-1846  None None
LBMD 1842-1900  1858-1940 None
SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1842-1897 1842-1930 - part. None
LOPC 1842-1900 1846-1920 None
LBMD 1842-1900  1846-1940 None
SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1831-1885; 1896-1897 None None
LOPC 1831-1941 1838-1919 1831-1897
LBMD 1838-1940 1838-1940 None
FREG None 1886-1896 None
SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD 1854-1900 1860-1940 None
SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None 1845-1856 None
LBMD 1838-1900 1838-1940 - part. None
SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1865-1936 - part. 1866-1933 - part. None
LBMD 1866-1900 - part. 1866-1940 None
LOPC 1866-1900 1866-1913 None
SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1914 1838-1935 - part.  1833-1840 
LOPC 1826-1914  1838-1900 1834-1888 
LBMD 1837-1900  1838-1940 None
FREG 1826-1864 - part. 1865-1891 - part. 1834-1888
SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864  1709-1882 1709-1854 
LOPC 1635-1641;1813-1887 1838-1882  1813-1854
LBMD 1837-1900  1838-1940 None
SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD 1881 only 1879-1940 None
SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 170 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1846-1900 1849-1940 None
SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1794-1931 - part.  1838-1957 - part. 1805-1865 (part.)
LOPC 1794-1875 1838-1921 1794-1843 
LBMD 1837-1900 1838-1940 None
FREG None 1838-1886 None
SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1869-1921 - part.  1869-1940 - part. 1949-1968 - part.
LOPC 1869-1921 1871-1914 1949-1968
LBMD 1869-1900  1871-1940 None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels in the ancient parish of Manchester, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.


Original Records

Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom. FamilySearch has microfilmed the original parish (chapelry) registers for Salford St Matthias as follows: Salford- St Matthias
Baptisms-1842-1906- MFPR 1730
Baptisms-1906-1962- MFPR 1731
Marriages-1858-1906- MFPR 1732
Marriages-1906-1966- MFPR 1733

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Bishop's transcripts for Salford area churches, 1635-1889 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes the following chapelries from the town of Salford, (parish of Manchester): Trinity, Christchurch, St. Matthias, St. Phillip and St. Stephen.
The title board for item 1 has incorrect dates. It should read, 1635- 1777.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/217-219

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials of Trinity Church, 1826-1836; baptisms, 1885-1889; baptisms of St. Matthias, 1842-1846; baptisms and burials of St. Philip, 1833-1840; baptisms and burials of St. Stephen, 1808-1844 (includes marriages from 1838)
FHL BRITISH Film
1545654 Items 4-5


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438737.


Poor Law Unions

Salford, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,093 times.