Salford St Simon, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Salford St Simon, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Salford St Simon, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Salford|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1808|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
St Simon, Salford was created as a district church in the year 1845. It was one of approximately ten such district churches built to handle the burgeoning growth of population in that township. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of Manchester St Mary and St Denys (The Cathedral Church). Here is a brief 1848 historical overview for this chapelry: St. Simon's church, Salford, of which the first stone was laid March 24th, 1845; an ecclesiastical parish was assigned to it, out of [Sacred] Trinity district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online transcriptions exist for Salford St Bartholomew's Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries comprising this very large suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St Denys). Displayed below are the links to the available ranges of years for which online data (transcriptions) are located:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|FS||1842-1897||1842-1930 - part.||None|
|SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes|
|LBMD||1838-1900||1838-1940 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish|
|FS||1865-1936 - part.||1866-1933 - part.||None|
|LBMD||1866-1900 - part.||1866-1940||None|
|SALFORD ST MATHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|FS||1826-1914||1838-1935 - part.||1833-1840|
|FREG||1826-1864 - part.||1865-1891 - part.||1834-1888|
|SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes|
|FS||1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864||1709-1882||1709-1854|
|SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes|
|FS||1794-1931 - part.||1838-1957 - part.||1805-1865 (part.)|
|SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes|
|FS||1869-1921 - part.||1869-1940 - part.||1949-1968 - part.|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels in the ancient parish of Manchester, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438737.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 02:11.
- This page has been accessed 4,194 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News