Salisbury St Thomas, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Salisbury St Thomas, Wiltshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Salisbury St Thomas, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salisbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Salisbury PLU
Registration District Salisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1530
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Salisbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of the Sub-Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Salisbury (or New Sarum).SALISBURY, a city,having separate civil jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Underditch, S. division of Wiltshire, 82 miles(S. W. by W.) from London. tory. Parish and municipal border, city, and county town of Wiltshire, on the Upper Avon, at confluence of the Bourne and the Nadder and Wiley, 28 miles W. of Winchester and 83 SW. of London by rail. The city comprises the parish of St. Edmund, part of St. Martin's, and the parish of St. Thomas. Theextraparochial district of the Cathedral Close includes a grammer school for the education of eight boys.Thereareplaces of worshipfor Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Salisbury St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
SALISBURY ST THOMAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1530-1532, 1559-1561, 1570-1904
1570-1906

JOIN
1570-1812

NIM 1530-1840
1570-1837
1530-1837
TGEN
1570-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464204.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,190 times.