Salle, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to  Salle, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Salle, Norfolk
St Peter and St Paul, Salle, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SALL (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 1¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Reepham. [1]


Salle St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The church was a 15th century replacement on the site of an earlier one. It is a large church as a result of several local landlords desire to compete in their contributions to the building which was built  mainly by the Boleyn, Foutaine and Brigg families all of which are commemorated by 15th century monuments in the church. 

A memorial brass for Geoffrey and Alice Boleyn (1440) indicate the Boleyn presence long before Ann Boleyn became a wife to Henry VIII.

Salle is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk.
For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of Broadland.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Salle, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Salle, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1862
1600-1903
1600-1902
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1924 Undefined 1558-1830, 1837-1901 Undefined 1558-1902
JOIN
1814-1836

NBI

1813-1837

The FamilySearch Catalogue has the parish spelled Sall which compromises searches.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD  328   Parish Records of Salle

Item 1 Baptisms 1559-1730 Marriages 1558-1643, 1661-1730 Burials 1558-1644, 1655-1730 Item 2 Baptisms and burials 1730-1813 Marriages 1730-1753 Item 3 Baptisms 1813-1924 Item 4 Baptism register bill 1869-1872 Item 5 Draft baptisms and burials 1885-1897 Item 6 Marriages 1754-1812 ; banns 1754-1818 Item 7 Marriages 1814-1830 Item 8 Marriages 1837-1901 FHL BRITISH Film 1596459 Items 1-8
Burials, 1813-1902 FHL BRITISH Film 1911696 Item 25

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms and burials 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1628-1633, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526782 Item 10

Known Issues

Images of the parish register for this parish are available on FamilySearch Historical Records; however the way point to the image has been incorrectly spelled and awaits correction by engineers.<br

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11. Date accessed: 14 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,632 times.