Saltersford, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Saltersford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saltersford, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Woodford beginning 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586; Separate records exist for Woodford beginning 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SALTERSFORD, is a chapelry, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, and Northern division of the county of Chester, it is 6 miles (E. N. E.) from Macclesfield. The chapel is a neat edifice, erected in 1731.[1]

Saltersford St John was dedicated originally to St John the Baptist later St John the Evangelist and as a chapelry was known as the Jenkin Chapel. Saltersford is one of the 35 townships in pre-Norman Prestbury Ancient Parish. 

Its building was financed by John Slack of Saltersford Hall, and by other voluntary contributions, and it was dedicated on 24 June 1733, originally to St John the Baptist. The tower was added in 1754-55, but the church was not officially consecrated until 1894, when it was re-dedicated to St. John the Evangelist.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Saltersford St John the Baptist registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Saltersford St John the Baptist Parish (1770) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1770-1821
1865-1904

FS PR's 1770-1821
  NONE
1865-1897
  NONE
1783-1821
  NONE
FS BT'S 1795-1890
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1795-1860
  NONE
FMP (£)   
  
  
  
1783-1996
1783-1996
NBI

1783-1996

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Kettleshulme,Rainow and Saltersford.
Macclesfield, St. Michael (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Prestbury parish. Saltersford was a separate parish created in 1780 and later joined with Kettleshulme as a parish in 1864.
Saltersford, St. John the Baptist (C of E). The parish church from 1863.

Parish registers for Rainow with Saltersford parish, 1765-1992 The parish of Rainow-with-Salterford was created in 1921. Previously, Rainow was a chapelry in Presbury Parish. Salterford was a separate parish created in 1780 and later joined with Kettleshulme as a parish in 1863
Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P188/3116/1/1-2, P188/3116/2/1-3, P188/3176, P188/3116/3, P188/3116/8,   P188/6127/1-3.

Parish registers Content FHL Films
Baptisms, 1765-1788. BRITISH 2105692 Item 15
Baptisms, 1788-1812. Marriages, 1846-1941. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1821. Burials, 1815-1895. Marriages, 1865-1921 (Saltersford-with-Kettleshulme). BRITISH 2105693 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1841-1992. Banns of marriages, 1847-1957. Burials, 1895-1959. BRITISH
2262784 Items 4 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for Prestbury, Chelford, Adlingron, Saltersford-cum-Kettleshulme, 1596-1858

Includes records of Chelford, Adlington, and Saltersford-cum- Kettleshulme Chapels.
Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 172.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1715-1744, 1747-1778, 1780, 1802-1805. BRITISH 1751914 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1805-1819, baptisms, 1820. BRITISH 1751955
Baptisms, 1820-1825.  Burials, marriages, 1820-1824.  Marriages, (January-March) 1825. BRITISH 1751956
Marriages, (March-December) 1825, burials, 1825, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1826-1829, baptisms, marriages, 1830, burials, (January-March) 1830. BRITISH 1751957
Burials, (March-December) 1830, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1834, baptisms, burials, 1835, marriages, (January-April) 1835. BRITISH 1751958
Marriages, burials, 1835, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1836-1838. BRITISH 1751959
Marriages, (August-December) 1839. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1779-1801. 1840. Burials, 1839. Baptisms & burials, 1855-1858, BRITISH 1751960

Further material for this parish can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Non-Conformist Churches

Kettleshulme, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1815, rebuilt in 1901. Registers 1808–1836 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Saltersford (see Rainow) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography

Bilsborough, Norman (1983). The Treasures of Cheshire. Manchester: The North West Civic Trust. pp. 149. ISBN 0901347353.

Richards, Raymond (1947). Old Cheshire Churches. London: Batsford. pp. 289–290.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 17:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,078 times.