Saltwood, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Saltwood, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saltwood, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hayne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SALTWOOD (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Hayne, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, ¾ of a mile (N. by W.) from Hythe. This place was distinguished for its castle, which is said to have been first built by the son of Hengist, the Saxon, in 448. The remains of the castle, which are sufficiently considerable to convey some idea of its former magnificence, are situated on an eminence commanding a fine view of the sea. [1]

Saltwood is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Saltwood Wikipedia which includes the hamlets of Pedlinge and Sandling, see Pedlinge Wikipedia for Pedlinge chapel of ease and Sandling Wikipedia Saltwood Castle has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Saltwood St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury with a district chapel of ease at Pedlinge within the parish. The Pedlinge chapel of ease was provided for estate workers of Sandling Park which continues to be occupied by a member of the Hardy Family, see A church near you

The parish church of Saint Peter and St Paul, Rectory Lane, Saltwood has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 218-231 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Saltwood, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Saltwood, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1560-1912 1560-1912 1562-1928 1562-1928 1562-1934 1562-1934

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.


 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SALTWOOD (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Hayne, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, ¾ of a mile (N. by W.) from Hythe. [5]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11. Accessed and adapted: 30 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 5-11. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,742 times.