Sambrook,ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Sambrook,Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Luke Sambrook Shropshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

SAMBROOK, two townships and a chapelry on the N E border of Shropshire; averagely 5 miles N N W of Newport r. station. The townships are in respectively Chetwynd and Cheswardine parishes; and the chapelry includes also part of Edgmond parish, and was constituted in 1856.[1]

Sambrook is a small village in the ceremonial county of Shropshire, where it is part of the civil parish of Chetwynd, north of the town of Newport. To the north is the small hamlet of Ellerton, with Howle to the west and Pickstock to the south-east.

It was recorded as a manor in the Domesday Book survey, when it was known as "Semembre"; the spellings "Sambroc" and "Sambrock" were later used: the name probably means "sand brook".

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Chetwynd like this:

CHETWYND, a parish in Newport district, Salop; on the verge of the county and on the river Mees, adjacent to the Newport canal, and near the Stafford and Shrewsbury railway, 1½ mile N by W of Newport. It includes the townships of Howle and Sambrook, and part of Pickstock; and its Post town is Newport, Salop. Acres, 3, 803. Real property, £3, 729. Pop., 719. Houses, 147. The property is subdivided. Chetwynd Park is the seat of J.B. Borough, Esq. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £705.* Patron, J.B. Borough, Esq. The church was rebuilt in 1867, and is in the second pointed style. There are an Independent chapel, and charities £46.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sambrook,Shropshire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Sambrook,Shropshire Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1856-1875 Marr none Bur 1857-1875 Missing all events 1869-1874

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474579.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 842 times.