Samford University LibraryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Samford University Library
Samford University, Homewood, Alabama. The Library is in the center.

Contents

Contact Information

E-mail:[1] referenc@samford.edu

Address:[1]

Samford University Library
800 Lakeshore Drive
Birmingham, AL 35229

Telephone:[1]  205-726-2196

Hours and holidays:[2] Hours and holidays

Maps, and public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

Government documents, databases, southern U.S. Baptist Church records, JSTOR, ProQuest Newspapers, local history material. The Library's Special Collections is the repository of Alabama Genealogical Society papers, and various other genealogical and historical resources. Resources include church materials, congregational and regional records, maps, local historical and genealogical periodicals, newspapers, census records, family histories, Cork and Kerry counties, Ireland records, and various audio visuals.[3] Affiliated with the annual classes of the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR).

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Samford University Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • Alabama Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, local government files, newspapers, maps, church records, Civil War soldiers, photos, publications, historical quarterly, 1867 voter database, World War I Goldstar database, vertical files, personal history surname file, and AL city directories inventory.
  • National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta) federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty-land, photos, passengers arrival indexes, naturalizations, Native Americans, African Americans, workshops.

Similar Collections

  • Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 3.1 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, Mormon records.
  • Dallas Public Central Library 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, and tax abstracts in book form, or microfilm of originals for some states, and online databases.

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Contact Us at Samford University Library (accessed 30 August 2012).
  2. Hours SU Library at Samford University Library (accessed 30 August 2012).
  3. Special Collection at Samford University Library (accessed 30 August 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 April 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,972 times.