San Augustine County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties S
San Augustine County
Guide to San Augustine County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Adopted by TXGenWeb San Augustine County
Contents |
County Courthouse
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.San Augustine County Courthouse
106 Courthouse
San Augustine, TX 75972
Phone: 936.275.2452
County Clerk has birth records from 1905,
death records from 1903, marriage records
from 1837, probate records from 1828
and land records from 1833; District Clerk
has divorce and court records from 1837[1]
San Augustine County was established 18 years before the construction of the first courthouse. During those early years, the Mansion Hotel and the federal custom house each served the needs of the county. In 1854 the first courthouse was built in the public square. The next courthouse was built in 1890. It was torn down to make room for the current courthouse, built in 1927. Through a grant from the Texas Historical Commission, the 1927 courthouse was restored and rededicated in November 2010.
San Augustine County Courthouse
County Clerk - Diana Kovar
100 W. Columbia Room 106
San Augustine, TX 75972
San Augustine County Government website
San Augustine County, Texas courthouse records, loose papers, 1831-1906 : inventory and index, published in 1984. Digital book on line from the Portal to Texas History.
History
The mission of Nuestra Senora de los Dolores de los Ais was established in 1716.
Parent County
1836--San Augustine County was created on 17 March 1836 from an Old Mexican Municipality. San Augustine was one of the 23 original counties established after Texas won independence from Mexico in 1836. County seat: San Augustine [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of San Augustine County border changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Broaddus | San Augustine
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for San Augustine County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- San Augustine County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps
- Plat Map of Original Land Grants of San Augustine County from the Portal to Texas History
- San Augustine County 1839 Map from the Portal to Texas History.
- San Augustine County 1871 Map from the Portal to Texas History.
- 1914 Map of Angelina, Gregg, Harrison, Cherokee, Houston, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith & Trinity at www.rootsweb.com
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Augustine County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Augustine+county+Texas+Newspapers&qt=results_page WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a San Augustine County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- San Augustine County Deaths from the San Augustine County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Web Sites
- San Augustine County TXGenWeb site, maps, name indexes, history and other information for this San Augustine County.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Augustine County, Texas. Page 673 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 20:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,965 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
