San Benito County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to San Benito County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|San Benito County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 12, 1874|
|Address|| San Benito County Court House|
440 5 th St 2nd Floor
Hollister, CA 95023
County Clerk has birth marriage, death, burial,
land and naturalization records from 1894
Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses
For tips on accessing San Benito County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
The California State Genealogical Alliance serves as a statewide association of independent genealogical societies, individuals and non-profit organizations. The Alliance website provides genealogical resources for all 50 California counties. This is the link for San Benito County.
Local histories are available for San Benito County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Benito County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Benito - Probate records.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- San Bento County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- San Benito County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Benito County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
- This page has been accessed 5,304 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki