San Bernardino County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to San Bernardino County

Guide to San Bernardino County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

San Bernardino Calif.JPG

Dates for major county records[1]
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1854-present
1854-present 1873-present 1860-present 1854-present 1856-present
For earlier dates, try...

Remember these collections
Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records



San Bernardino County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting San Bernardino County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 26, 1853
County Seat San Bernardino
Courthouse
Address Archives
1808 Commercenter West, Ste. D,
San Bernardino, CA 92415
(855) 732-2575
(909) 890-1713
Website: www.sbcounty.gov
Named for: Saint Bernardino of Siena

Contents

County Courthouse

San Bernardino County Courthouse
22 W Hospitality Lane
San Bernardino, CA 92415
Phone: 909.387.8306

County Clerk has marriage license from 1887
divorce and probate records from 1856 court
records from 1853 and land records from 1854;
County Recorder has birth and death records
from 1853 and marriage records from 1857[2]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: San Bernardino County, California
San Bernardino County is presently the largest county in terms of geographic area within the United States. The county seat is the city of San Bernardino which is also the county's largest in terms of population, and that city lies in the southwest corner of the county.

San Bernardino itself was founded by settlers sent by Brigham Young in the 1850s, but they left when the matter known as the 'Utah War' erupted back in Utah.

www.co.san-bernardino.ca.us/main/history.asp

Parent County

26 April 1853: San Bernardino County was created from Los Angeles County which had annexed part of San Diego County in 1851. County seat: San Bernardino [3]

Boundary Changes

Los Angeles County and San Diego County were original counties created in 1850 when California became a state. In 1851, Los Angeles County expanded to the eastern border of California to include part of what was San Diego, County. In 1853, San Bernardino County was created from the eastern area of Los Angeles County. In 1878, additional land from Los Angeles County was added to San Bernardino County. 

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Although the settlement of these communities began in the Spanish period,  the Cucamonga US post office opened in 1864; the Alta Loma area opened as tracts in 1881 and became Alta Loma in 1913, and Etiwanda was a community planned in 1881. The three communities were merged into Rancho Cucamonga in 1977.

Neighboring Counties

Inyo   Kern   Los Angeles   Orange   Riverside

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Mountain View Cemetery, 570 E Highland Ave, San Bernardino, CA 92404-4002 (909) 882-2943

Pioneer Memorial Cemetery, 211 E 9th St, San Bernardino, CA 92410-4408 (909) 885-6484
http://www.ci.san-bernardino.ca.us/about/history/pioneer_memorial_cemetery.asp

Montecito Memorial Park 3520 E. Washington Street, Colton (San Bernardino County), CA  92324 Phone: (909) 825-3024

Bellvue Memorial Park, 1240 West G Street, Ontario CA 91762 (909) 986-1201
http://www.bellevuememorialpark.com/

Census

For tips on accessing San Bernardino County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Colton
  • Bloomington
  • Fontana
  • Highland
  • Needles
  • Ontario
  • Redlands
  • Rialto
  • San Bernardino
  • San Bernardino 1
  • San Bernardino 2
  • Victorville
  • Yucaipa

Court Records

http://www.sb-court.org/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for San Bernardino County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Casanbernardino.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from San Bernardino County, California for emigrant settlers included:

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Serving: Adelanto, Apple Valley, Banning, Barstow, Beaumont, Big Bear, Colton, Crestline, Fontana, Grand Terrace, Hesperia, Highland, Loma Linda, Mentone, Redlands, Rialto, San Bernardino, Victorville, Yucaipa


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Bernardino County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Bernardino - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

County Courthouse

San Bernardino County Recorder-Clerk - Archives

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

sanbernardinovitalrecords.com/

Birth
Marriage

For early marriages see Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Eichholz, Alice Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 68-83. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Benardo County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "El Camino Real (California)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Camino_Real_%28California%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Old Spanish Trail (trade route)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Spanish_Trail_%28trade_route%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
  6. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Butterfield Overland Mail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfield_Overland_Mail (accessed 14 September 2011).
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
  11. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
  12. Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Fe Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Fe_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Southern Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
  14. Wikipedia contributors, "Atlantic and Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlantic_and_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 11,898 times.