San Diego County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to California go to San Diego County

Guide to San Diego County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


San Diego County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting San Diego County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat San Diego
Courthouse
Address San Diego County Administation Building
1600 Pacific Hwy
San Diego, CA 92101
Phone: 619.238.8158

San Diego County Website

Adopt-a-wiki page
San Diego GS Logo.JPG This page adopted by:
San Diego Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Superior Court records from 1850. Superior Court has probate, civil and divorce records. 

Main County Courthouse

220 W. Broadway

San Diego, CA 92101

Courthouse website


County Administration Building


County Clerk Recorder has birth records from 1857
marriage records from 1856 death records from 1873
and land records from 1850’s.[1]

www.co.san-diego.ca.us/

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: San Diego County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: San Diego County was created as an original county. County seat: San Diego [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing San Diego County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

San Diego Superior Court records are maintained at several courthouse locations and at a records warehouse.

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies


Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for San Diego County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

California, San Diego Naturalization Index (FaamilySearch Historical Records)

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Diego County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Diego - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Carlsbad City Library - click on "Genealogy" on right side for details.

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

Alpine Historical Society

Carlsbad Historical Society

Computer Genealogy Society of San Diego

Congress of History of San Diego and Imperial Counties

Coronado Historical Museum

Del Mar History

El Cajon Historical Society

Encinitas Historical Society

Escondido History Center

Japanese American Historical Society of San Diego

Lakeside Historical Society

Lemon Grove Historical Society

Oceanside Historical Society

Portuguese Research and Education San Diego

Poway Historical and Memorial Society

Guy B Woodward Museum

Rancho Santa Fe Historical Society

San Diego Chinese Historical Museum

San Diego Genealogical Society

San Diego History Center

San Dieguito Heritage Museum

San Marcos Historical Society

Santee Historical Society

Solana Beach Civil and Historical Society

Spring Valley Historical Society

Temecula Valley Historical Society

Valley Center Historical Society

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

California county clerks were to keep voting registers every other year from 1866 and well into the 20th century. These large books, called Great Registers, listed the men who registered to vote in that county. Besides name and age, the record may show place of birth, address, occupation, naturalization date and sometimes even a physical description.

These records are at the California State Library (1866-1944), and microfilmed copies are available through Family History Centers (1866-1910). Ancestry ($) has a searchable database of San Diego Great Registers from 1867-1898.

The San Diego records indexes for 1866-1879 are available on the RootsWeb site, by clicking here.

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Diego County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 8,039 times.