San Joaquin County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to California go to San Joaquin County

Guide to San Joaquin County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


San Joaquin County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting San Joaquin County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Stockton
Courthouse
Address San Joaquin County Courthouse
24 S Hunter St #304
PO Box 1968
Stockton, CA 95201
Phone 209.468.8075


San Joaquin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

FamilySearch Indexing icon.png Records from this area are currently being indexed by volunteers. Come join the effort and help us index the US, California, San Joaquin County—Obituary Index File, 1850–1991
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1851
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records[1]


 

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: San Joaquin County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: San Joaquin was created as an original county. County seat: Stockton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Cherokee Memorial Park Hwy 99 E Harney Lane Lodi, CA 95240 209-334-9613

Park View Cemetery 3661 E. French Camp Rd. Manteca, CA 95336 209-982-1661

San Joaquin Catholic Cemetery Cemetery Lane Stockton, CA 209-466-6202

Stockton Rural Cemetery 2350 Cemetery Lane Stockton, CA 95204 209-465-5213

The following web sites have entries for people buried in San Joaquin County. None have complete lists:

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for San Joaquin, California, look at the list of records for Cemeteries. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.

Census

For tips on accessing San Joaquin County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Stockton
  • Tracy
  • Manteca

Court Records

San Joaquin County Court Directory gives addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers and links to the courts web sites and online resources..

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for San Joaquin County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Google Books has some books about the history and people in San Joaquin County, California. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

For historical maps,search the following free sites:

Casanjoaquin.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from San Joaquin County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]

Military History and Records

The California State Military Museum has a great deal of historical information and links to other military web sites.

Ancestry.com has Records of California men in the War of the Rebellion, 1861 to 1867 ($)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in San Joaquin County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in San Joaquin County, California:


- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company D
- 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company K

Newspapers

One of the members at the Lodi California Family History Center has compiled an index of Lodi-area obituaries from the 1880s to the 2000s. The Lodi Public Library holds a copy of his work as well. An index exists for The Record (Stockton) if you ask the reference librarian at the Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library. Neither index is available online at this time, and the papers themselves must be accessed via microfilm.

There may be some information relevant to the county in the California Digital Newspaper Collection, which has newspapers from 1848 through 1922. You can search by keyword, including names, and/or by date.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

California, San Joaquin County Public Library Obituary Index File (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Joaquin County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Joaquin - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

  1. Stockton-San Joaquin County Library

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

  1. San Joaquin Genealogical Society
  2. San Joaquin County Historical Society and Museum

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

For early marriages see Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Joaquin County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 10,959 times.