San Luis Obispo County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to California go to San Luis Obispo County

Guide to San Luis Obispo County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


San Luis Obispo County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting San Luis Obispo County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat San Lupis Obispo
Courthouse
Address San Luis Obispo County Courthouse
1144 Monterey St Suite C
San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
Phone 805.781.5080
San Luis Obispo County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

San Luis Obispo County Courthouse
1144 Monterey St Suite C
San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
Phone 805.781.5080


County Clerk Recorder has birth records from 1873,
marriage and death records from 1850  and land records from 1842
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: San Luis Obispo County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: San Luis Obispo was created as an original county. County seat: San Luis Obispo [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing San Luis Obispo County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for San Luis Obispo County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Casanluisobispo.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in San Luis Obispo County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in San Luis Obispo County, California:

- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Luis Obispo County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Luis Obiso - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

San Luis Obispo Genealogical Library
San Luis Obispo Public Library
995 Palm Street
San Luis Obispo, California
Phone: 805-785-0383
Librarian - Martha Graham

Arroyo Grande Genealogical Library
Arroyo Grande Public Library
South County Refional Center
800 W. Branch Street
Arroyo Grande, California
Librarian - Carolyn Baker

Mailing address for the libraries:
SLOCGS
P.O. Box 4
Atascadero, CA 93423-0004
(Mailed enquiries must include an SASE. We cannot respond to queries that do not include a stamped return envelope.)

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

San Luis Obispo County Genealogical Society
meets at:
Independent Order of Odd Fellows (IOOF) Hall
520 Dana Street
San Luis Obispo, CA

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Luis County, California. Page 87 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 6,499 times.