San Miguel County, New MexicoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to San Miguel County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|San Miguel County, New Mexico|
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
|Founded||September 22, 1846|
|County Seat||Las Vegas|
|Address|| San Miguel County Courthouse|
500 W National Street
Las Vegas, NM 87701
San Miguel County Website
San Miguel County Courthouse
500 W National Street
Las Vegas, NM 87701
County Clerk has marriage records from 1880, probate records from 1939, and land records from 1800’s; Clerk of the District Court has divorce and court records from 1882.
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 22 September 1846 - San Miguel (del Bado) County was created based on an old Mexican government partido as one of seven original New Mexico counties under General Stephen W. Kearny's Kearny Code of laws for the occupied Mexican territory. It formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended in 1848 with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- New Mexico Cemetery Records
- AHGP New Mexico Cemetery Transcription & Photo Project
- New Mexico Cemetery Records, Luna to Valencia
- New Mexico Cemetery Record Information Online
- New Mexico Tombstone Transcription Project
- New Mexico Cemeteries Project
- New Mexico Vital Record Information: Cemeteries
- Online New Mexico Death Records and Indexes
- Cemeteries of New Mexico
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
For tips on accessing San Miguel County, New Mexico census records online, see: New Mexico Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for San Miguel County, New Mexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in San Miguel County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in New Mexico.
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of Santa Fe and Albuquerque newspapers online. Their database is sometimes free at libraries.
Finding More New Mexico Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Miguel County, New Mexico newspapers in online catalogs like:
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Las Vegas New Mexico Family History Center 710 Kathryn Dr Las Vegas, NM 87701 United States Location Map
- San Miguel County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Baca County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 6” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
- ↑ N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
|This New Mexico-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:44.
- This page has been accessed 6,660 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page