Sand Hutton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png Sand Hutton

Guide to Sand Hutton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sand Hutton, Yorkshire
St Mary Sand Hutton Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sand Hutton is today, an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1753 from Thirsk, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Claxton. Originally, and for historical research purposes it was created as a chapelry within the ancient parish boundaries of Thirsk.

The village and civil parish of Sand Hutton is in the Ryedale district of North Yorkshire and is largely owned by the Church Commissioners. See Claxton and Sand Hutton website

The ruins of the former church of St Leonard are within the churchyard of St Mary which was built in 1842 to replace the older parish church. The ruins of St Leonard have been designated as a grade II monument British listed building

St Mary has been designated as a Grade II listed building British listed building. The Sand Hutton group of 10 churches form the modern benefice in the diocese of York.

See also Sand Hutton Wikipedia and for references to the parish see A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2 (1923), pp. 58-70. here

Here is an excellent historical prospective by the famous topographer Samuel A. Lewis (1848)

"HUTTON, SAND, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. ridingof York, 3 miles (W.) from Thirsk. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sand Hutton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SAND HUTTON PARISH (1634) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1862-1886 1862-1886
FS 1601, 1634-1640, 1661-1681

1634-1886

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SAND HUTTON and comprising the whole ancient parish of THIRSK to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the THIRSK parish page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464228.

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 594-598. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,233 times.