Sandal Magna, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Sandal Magna

Guide to Sandal Magna, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sandal Magna, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SANDALL, GREAT (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Crigglestone, Sandall, Walton, and part of West Bretton, 2 miles(S. by E.) from Wakefield. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sandal Magna exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SANDAL MAGNA PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812
BIVRI
1598-1631

FREG 1598-1812 1598-1832 1598-1812
FS 1598-1843, 1906

1651-1847

None

JOIN None

1539-1812, 1832-1837

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemeteries

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1651.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date accessed: 22 April 2013. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,275 times.