Sandbach, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sandbach

Guide to Sandbach, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Sandbach, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

SANDBACH (St. Mary), is a market-town and parish, partly in the union of Northwich, but chiefly in the union of Congleton, hundred of Northwich, and the Southern division of the county of Chester.

The parish comprises the chapelries of Church-Hulme, and Goostrey with Barnshaw, and the townships of Arclid, Betchton, Blackden, Bradwall, Cotton, Cranage, Hassall, Sandbach, Twemlow, Wheelock, and part of Leese. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Sandbach St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Sandbach St Mary Parish (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1821-1836
1821-1836


FS PR's 1562-1896
  NONE
1562-1911
  NONE
1562-1894
  NONE
FS BT'S 1593-1864
  NONE
1593-1844
  NONE
1586-1864
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish Churches

Sandbach St Mary

Elworth St Peter, Cheshire

Sandbach Heath St John

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Sandbach parish registers
Film
Christenings, 1813-1820 and 1823-1837
942.71/S2 V26ms British Large Q Book
Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1975. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
973139 Item 7

Parish registers, Sandbach, Cheshire, England, christenings, 1799-1812, 1821-1823, and marriages, 1736-1742, 1754-1812 Forms part of the Norman Collection compiled by Bertram William Tuff Norman

Parish registers, Sandbach
Film
Christenings, 1799-1812, 1821-1823, and Marriages, 1736-1742, 1754-1812
British Book  942.71/S2 V26s
Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
823615 Item 4

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Sandbach Heath, 1861-1969

 St. John's Church, Sandbach Heath Parish registers Film
Baptisms, 1861-1969. Marriages, 1861-1951. Banns of marriages, 1861-1968. Burials, 1862-1962.
2301157 Items 1 - 7

Bishop's transcripts of Sandbach Parish, 1576-1864: Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England

Bishop's transcripts of Sandbach Parish, 1576-1864 Records are not in chronological order. Some years are missing
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1576, 1586, 1593, 1597, 1600, 1604, 1607-1611, 1614-1615, 1617-1618, 1620, 1619, 1625-1630, 1633, 1635, 1634, 1636-1637, 1639-1640; [no date], 1660-1666, 1668-1676, 1679-1682, 1684-1685, 1689-1697, [1698?], 1700, 1699, (some pages illegible).
2068518 Items 4 - 5
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1721-1703, 1740-1722, 1760-1746 (reverse of chronological order).
1751910 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1748-1741, 1780-1778, (reverse of chronological order), 1778-1780 (duplicate filming), 1799-1782 (reverse of chronological order), 1800-1820.
1751911
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1821-1834, marriages, 1836.
1751912
Baptisms, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838, baptisms, 1839, burials, 1841, baptisms, 1840-1841, baptisms, burials, 1842, 1852, 1851, burials, 1852, baptisms, burials, 1851-1845 (filmed backward), baptisms, marriages, burials, 1844, baptisms, burials, 1843, 1853-1862, baptisms, 1863-1864, burials, 1863-1864.
1751913 Item 1
Baptisms, 1836-1837, burials, 1836, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838-1839, burials, 1841
1751914 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Sandbach, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Middlewich Road. Built in 1865, rebuilt in 1913.
  • Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1788 on Middlewich Road, rebuilt in 1871 in Wesley Avenue. 
  • Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1832 on Union Street, rebuilt in 1857 in Wells Street, closed in 1950. 
  • Sandbach, Providence Methodist Chapel (Free), Bradwall Road. Built in 1839, closed in 1964. .
  • Sandbach Heath, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1851, closed in 1902.
  • Sandbach, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1882.
  • Ettiley Heath, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1888.
  • Sandbach, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Hope Street. Built in 1807.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records for the Providence Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bradwell Road, Sandbach, 1863-1959 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 220/2/1, EMS 220/3/1-2.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Church records for the Providence Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bradwell Road, Sandbach
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1863-1936. Marriages, 1910-1959. BRITISH 2299525 Items 1 - 3

Church records for the Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1838-1956 and includes Sandbach, Sandbach Heath, Alsager, Elton, Bradwall, Smallwood, Warmingham, Betchton, Coppenhall, Odd Rode, Crewe, Congleton, Lawton, Nantwich, Biddulph, Ettiley Heath, Thurlwood, Rode Heath, Willaston, Sproston, Hassall, Haslington, and Elworth.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Church records for the Sandbach and Alsager Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1956. BRITISH 2299550 Item 7

Church records for the Sandbach Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1843-1946 and includes Sandbach, Haslington, Wheelock, Weston, Wybunbury, Engleston Brook, Etteley Heath, Middlewich, Newton, Barthomley, Staleybridge, Etton, Church Coppenhall, Betchton, Hough, Sydney, Crewe, Lawton, Elton, Odd Rode, Malkins Bank, Thurlwood, Thurlton, Congleton, Hassel-Green, Rode-Heath, Elworth, and Winterley. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMC 8/14/1-4.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Church records for the Sandbach Primitive Methodist Circuit FHL Film
Baptisms, 1843-1946 (date on title board for item 11 is wrong BRITISH 2299550 Items 8 - 11

Church records for the Welles Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sandbach, 1911-1946 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 221/1/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Church records for the Welles Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sandbach FHL Film
Marriages, 1911-1946 BRITISH 2299525 Item 4

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Hassall Green, 1838-1952 Hassall Green is within the township of Hassall in Sandbach parish. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 209/1. An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online in Record Search

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Hassall Green FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1952 (title board item incorrect). BRITISH 2299417 Item 22

Sandbach United Reformed Church records, 1808-1975 Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.

Sandbach United Reformed Church records
Film
Baptisms, 1808-1865. Congregational members, 1808-1867. Baptisms, 1871-1901. Burials, 1885-1962. Baptisms, 1900-1944. Marriages, 1882-1975.
2147609 Items 13 - 21

Independent Church Records Sandbach 1799-1836: Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London RG-4 series no. 217

Independent Church Records Sandbach Film
Births and baptisms, 1799-1836 20051 Item 1

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Sandbach Branch: Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Sandbach Branch Film
Record of members, 1857-1860
87030 Item 15

 Wesleyan Church (Sandbach, England)Church records, 1834-1838 RG-4 series no. 417.

Wesleyan Church Sandbach, England Film
Church records, 1834-1838
20051 Item 2


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 October 2014, at 01:30.
  • This page has been accessed 3,214 times.