Sandwich St Peter, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sandwich St Peter, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sandwich St Peter, Kent
Sandwich St Peter Kent.jpg
Sandwich St Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sandwich Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sandwich is a town and civil Parish, a Cinque Port within the Dover District of Kent, see also Sandwich Kent Wikipedia for a history of the town.

Sandwich St Peter is an Ancient Parish.

One of 3 Norman churches in the town it was damaged in the French attacks of the 13th century and rebuilt by the Carmelite "White Friars" from France and extended in the 14th century the church enjoyed the prosperity of the town and port.

Elizabeth I granted 25 Flemish families permission to live in Sandwich and St Peter became the "Stranger's Church" in 1564 when the plague came to the town in an effort to halt the spread of the disease. The 1661 tower collapse was repaired by the Flemish community and the distinctive tower reflects their work.

The 1948 unifiaction of the three churches with Sandwich St Clement, Kent becoming the parish church lead to the decline of the church and closure for worship. It became the chapel to Sir Roger Manwood's School from 1952 but the scale of restoration work to the tower in 1973 was beyond the resources of the school and the church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust who maintan the fabric of the building. and the church is used for community events and is opened to the public.

The Church of St Peter, St Peter's Street, Sandwich has been designated as a grade A listed building British listed building

See also Edward Hasted's 'The town and port of Sandwich', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 152-216. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

SANDWICH, a cinqueport, borough, and markettown, having separate jurisdiction, in the union, and locally in the hundred, of Eastry, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 39 miles (E.) from Maidstone, and 68 (E. by S.) from London. The town consists of the parishes of St. Clement, St. Mary the Virgin, and St. Peter the Apostle; also the Hospital of St. Bartholomew. The Calvinists, Independents, and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sandwich St Peter, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Sandwich St Peter, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1654-1813 (Banns) 1654-1813 (Banns) 1538-1927 1538-1927

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census returns for Sandwich St Peter 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-20. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 18:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,252 times.