Sangamon County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Sangamon County
Guide to Sangamon County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Sangamon County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | January 30, 1821 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Springfield |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Sangamon County Courthouse 200 South 9th Street Springfield, Illinois 62701-1629 (217) 753-6700 Sangamon County Website |
Sangamon County Organization
Sangamon County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Sangamon County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1877 |
1821 |
1877 |
1830 |
1822 |
1821 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Sangamon County are kept, see the Sangamon County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Sangamon County is named after the Sangamon River, which derived its name from the Pottawatomie Indian word Sain-guee-mon or Sangamon (pronounced sang gä mun), meaning literally "where there is plenty to eat" or what we would call the "land of milk and honey."[1]Parent County
- 1821--Sangamon County was created 30 January 1821 from the Northwest Territory. County seat: Springfield [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Sangamon County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Auburn (township & city)
Ball (township)
Berlin (village)
Buffalo (village)
Buffalo Hart (township)
Cantrall (village)
Capital (township)
Cartwright (township)
Chatham (township & village)
Clear Lake (township & village)
Cooper (township)
Cotton Hill (township)
Curran (township)
Dawson (village)
Divernon (township & village)
Fancy Creek (township)
Gardner (township)
Grandview (village)
Illiopolis (township & village)
Island Grove (township)
Jerome (village)
Lanesville (township)
Leland Grove (city)
Loami (township & village)
Maxwell (township)
Mechanicsburg (township & village)
New Berlin (township & village))
Pawnee (township & village)
Pleasant Plains (village)
Riverton (village)
Rochester (township & village)
Sherman (village)
Southern View (village)
Spaulding (village)
Springfield (city)
Springfield (township)
Talkington (township)
Thayer (village)
Williams (township)
Williamsville (village)
Woodside (township)
Neighboring Counties
Records and Resources
Biography
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Sangamon County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Sangamon County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries
Illinois Cemeteries for more information about the following Sangamon County resources.
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
Published Records
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Sangamon County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- WorldCat Books about Sangamon County cemetery records
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Sangamon Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- Springfield's Oak Ridge Cemetery, famous for being the resting place of Abraham Lincoln, has excellent burial records available on-line through Illinois Digital Archives. The Oak Ridge Cemetery Interment collection includes six volumes, covering the years 1858 - 1940. The ledger books include name, age, cause of death, place of birth, and location of burial plot. Additional comments sometimes include the name of a parent or exact place of death (address).
- Sangamon County Cemeteries. Courtesy of Rootsweb.
- US GenWeb Sangamon County Cemeteries
- Sangamon County Cemeteries. Courtesy of Illinois Trails.
- Interment.net. Select cemeteries
- Confederate Soldiers buried in Sangamon County. Courtesy of Illinois Trails
- Illinois Ancestors, Sangamon County Cemeteries
- Illinois Cemetery Records. Ancestry ($)
- Illinois D.A.R. genealogy records. Ancestry ($)
- Camp Butler National Cemetery (Interment.net);Veterans Gravesite Locator
- Calvary Cemetery, Springfield BillionGraves
- Cumberland Sugar Creek Cemetery
- Hodgerson Cemetery
- Roselawn Park
- Trinity Lutheran Burial Records, 1839–2005
Cemetery Gazetteers
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Sangamon County and links to the information for the individuals buried there.
- Illinois Cemeteries by county. Courtesy of the Illinois State Genealogical Society.
- ePodunk list of Sangamon County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 71,593 | ||
| 1910 | 91,024 | 27.1% | |
| 1920 | 100,262 | 10.1% | |
| 1930 | 111,733 | 11.4% | |
| 1940 | 117,912 | 5.5% | |
| 1950 | 131,484 | 11.5% | |
| 1960 | 146,539 | 11.5% | |
| 1970 | 161,335 | 10.1% | |
| 1980 | 176,089 | 9.1% | |
| 1990 | 178,386 | 1.3% | |
| 2000 | 188,951 | 5.9% | |
| 2010 | 197,465 | 4.5% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
Illinois State Census
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Sangamon County on page 188.]
- [1850–1880] U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules Ancestry ($) Only includes those persons who died within the year previous to the census enumeration.
Church Records
Church records can give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Books about church histories and church records can be found online county histories, through WorldCat at many libraries and through a subject search of the Family History Library Catalog.
The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Sangamon County edition. This includes a chapter in Vol 2 part 1 about the local churches beginning on page 856. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Baptist
- 1823–1837 Minutes of the Sangamon United(later Regular)Baptist Association.
- 1881 History of the Springfield Baptist Association Courtesy of IL GenWeb
Disciples of Christ
- History of the Disciples in Illinois 1819–1914Exerpt for Sangamon County.
Methodist
- Island Grove United Methodist Church Includes infant baptisms, marriages, ministers,a nd member lists. Courtesy of the Morgan Area Genealogy Society.
Lutheran
Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church
220 S. Second St.
Springfield, IL 62701
(217) 522-8151
- Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church has a searchable on-line index of baptism, marriage, and burial records dating back as far as 1839. For a listing of available records, go to the church's History/Archives page.
- Addtional index to Trinitry Lutheran Church Burials 1839–1861
- Trinity Lutheran Confirmation Photographs and Records 1900–2010
- Trinity Lutheran Graduates/Confirmands 1950–1999
Presbyterian
- 4th Presbyterian Church Gathering of the Portuguese. Courtesy of IlGenWeb.
Court Records
Original court records are held by the Judicial Circuit Court and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) at the University of Illinois, Springfield. At IRAD–UIS, a large number of records are available listed both as circuit court records and county court records. IRADcase files (1821–1909) and dockets (1836–1917) can be orderd from IRAD. An index (1836–1890) is available as well as other circuit court documents. Most of these records are original and not on film. Later original records are held by the clerk of the circuit court.
IRAD records also include court case files (1870–1950), court dockets (1874–1895), a judegement index (1916–1926) among other court records. As with the circuit court records, these are original records and are not on microfilm.
Copies of court records are available as follows:
- [1821–1901] Circuit Court Record IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1836–1917] Circuit Court Dockets IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1836–1897] Circuit Court Execution Dockets IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1853–1857] County Court Record F. Manuscript on film. Springfield, Illinois: Office of the Secretary of State, Micrographics Division, Source Documents Unit, 1986. FHL Film 1689037 Item 1
- [1903–1927] County Court Plea Record IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- The Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln by The Papers of Abraham Lincoln — Free
- This is a searchable database of all of Lincoln's papers related to his law practice. It includes papers concerning his cases, billings, etc. These records are primarily related to Cases in Sangamon County, but he also had cases elsewhere. The papers includes names of private citizens involved in the cases as well as businesses he represented. The names include witnesses, parties, attorneys, and others.
Ethnic Research
African American
Database of Servitude and Emancipation Records (1722–1863) This database includes approximately 3,400 names found in governmental records involving the servitude and emancipation of Africans and, occasionally, Indians in the French and English eras of colonial Illinois (1722–1790) and African-Americans in the American period of Illinois (1790–1863). The Illinois State Archives extracted the names of servants, slaves, or free persons and masters, witnesses, or related parties from selected governmental records to produce this database. Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives.
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
A History of the early settlers of Sangamon County, Illinois "Centennial Record"(1876) by John and Sarah Power is available free on Google Books. This book provides small biographies of the residents of 1800's Sangamon County.
Land and Property
Original deeds are held by the Sangamon County Recorder and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) at the University of Illinois Springfield (UIS).
Available indexes to land records:
- [1822–1832] Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Sangamon County, Illinois Deed & Misc. Record Index, 1822-1832. Springfield, Ill.: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1995. Other libraries (WorldCatFHL Book 977.356 R2s
- [1822–1902] Deed Index IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1825–1876] Sangamon County Town Lots Record (IRAD–UIS #4/275/02) Courtesy of USGenWeb.
- [1822–1844] Deed Index FHL film 1311592 Items 1-2 This index is from Menard County.
- [1824–1902] Deed Index FHL Film 1310356
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Each purchase entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, numeric code indicating the county in which the land is located, legal description (township, section, range), volume and page numbers of original entry, and variously, the sale type, and the purchaser's sex and residence. Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives.
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This database indexes the same record group as the IRAD Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales. However, this version includes the volume and page number of the record. Ancestry ($)
IRAD holds the following original deed records, which are also on microfilm: - [1823–1910] Deed Record IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1833–1867] Town Lot Entry Books IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
The following copies of deed records are available:
- [1671–1820] Cahokia Books B & C, Land Records (1800-1820) and Historical Material (ca. 1671-1819), 1671-1820. Manuscript on film. FHL film 1543598
- [1796–1907] General Land Office Records Ancestry ($) Land patents (cash and homestead)
- [1822–1917] Deed Records FHL Film 1310356 (first of 83 films)
- [1827–1900] Deed Records FHL film 1311592 Items 1-2 (first of 3 films) These records are from Menard County.
The following deed abstracts are available:
- [1858] Gochanour, Eileen L. 1858 Sangamon County, Illinois, Plat. Springfield, Illinois : W.W. Allers and E.L. Gochanour, 1987.Other libraries (WorldCat)FHl Book 977.356 R2a
- [1887] Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Directory of the Farmers and Land owners of Sangamon County. Springfield, Illinois: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1987. Other Libraries (WorldCat)FHL Book 977.356 R24d
- Rockford Map Publishers. Land atlas and plat book, Sangamon County, Illinois, 1985.Rockford, Illinois: Rockford Map Publishers, 1985. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHl Book 977.356 E7s
- Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Early Federal Land Sales of Sangamon County, Illinois: within the Present Boundries. Springfield, Illinois: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1978. Other Libraries (WorldCat) FHL Book 977.356 R2e
Maps
Township map of Sangamon County. Courtesy of Illinois State Archives.
Military
Veterans Databases Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives. Includes War of 1812, Indian Wars, Mexican War and various other databases.
Civil War
Civil War service men from Sangamon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sangamon County.
- - 1st Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery F.
- - 2nd Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Batteries B, G, H, I, and K.
- - 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company A.
- - 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K.
- - 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and I.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company F.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies H and I.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies A, B, G, H, and L.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company K.
- - 14th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 16th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies D and M.
- - 19th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and I.
- - 30th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 38th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 64th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Yates’ Sharpshooters), Company C.
- - 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, E and F.
- - 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, G and I.
- - 101st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- - 106th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 114th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and F.
- - 115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and K.
- - 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and I.
- - 133rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, E, and I.
- - 149th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company A.
- - 152nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company B.
- Illinois Civil War Muster and Descriptive Rolls Database Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives
- Database of Illinois Civil War Veterans Serving in the U.S. Navy Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives
- Database of Illinois Civil War Veterans of Missouri Units Courtesy of the Illinois State Archives
Naturalization
Newspapers and Obituaries
Sangamon County Obituary Index Courtesy of Rootsweb
Obituaries of Sangamon County Courtesy of Illinois Trails
Sangamon County Obituaries Courtesy of US GenWeb
Probate Records
Many of the early Sangamon County pre-1946 original probate records are held at IRAD. (How to search IRAD.) These records include dockets, case files, guardianship files, inventories and administrator and executor records. Additionally, probate bonds for the sale of real estate are included in this record group. See IRAD for a complete list of these holdings. (Search for Sangamon County) The Sagamon County Circuit Clerk holds more recent probate records.
The following indexes are available:
- [1825–1901] Sangamon County Guardian's Case Files Index; another copy courtesy of Genealogy Trails.
- [1821–1906] Sangamon County Probate Case Files Index FHL Fiche 6100637 Book 977.356 P22e
- [1850–1946] Dixon, Dan. Index to Record of Letters and Wills, Sangamon County, Illinois. Springfield, Illinois: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1988-1992. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL Book 977.356 P22ir
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Sangamon County are kept, see the Sangamon County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.
The FHC center in Sangamon County is located in Springfield. Be sure to call and visit the wiki page for hours of service and other information.
Springfield Illinois Family History Center
3601 Buckeye Drive
Springfield, Illinois 62712
Phone: 217-529-7930
You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site, if you live outside the area.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.
The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Sangamon County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:
Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520
Public Libraries
See the Illinois state wiki page Archives and Libraries for more information about state libraries in the Springfield area.
Auburn Public Library
338 W. Jefferson
Auburn, IL 62615
Phone: 1–217-438-6211
Chatham Area Public Library District
600 E. Spruce
Chatham, IL 62629
Phone: 1–217-483-2713.
Genealogy reseach assistance is available at the library. Please call the library staff for more information.
Divernon Twp. Library
221 South Second
Divernon, IL 62530
Phone: 1–217–628-3813
Illinois State Archives
Margret Cross Norton Building
Springfield, IL 62756
Telephone: 217-782-4682
Fax: 217-524-3930
Illinois State Historical Society
Old State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62701
Telephone: 217-525-2781
Illinois State Library
Gwendolyn Brooks Building
300 South 2nd Street
Springfield, IL 62701-1796
Phone: 1–217– 785-5600
The Illinois State Library has well over 500 different Illinois county histories and over 300 historical county atlases, with an additional 800 plat books representative of the 102 counties.
Illiopolis/Niantic Public Library
6th And Mary Streets
Illiopolis, IL 62539 Phone: 1–217-486-5561
Lincoln Presidential Library
112 N. Sixth Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Public and Research Hours
Monday -- Friday -- 9:00 AM -- 5:00 PM
Saturday, Sunday – Closed
Appointments are necessary for research in the Manuscripts, Audiovisual, and Lincoln collections. Please make arrangements by telephone or mail.
Manuscripts: (217) 558-8855
Audiovisual: (217) 785-7955
Lincoln: (217) 785-7954
A significant feature of the collection is the large number of Illinois newspapers available on microfilm.Explore a searchable list of their Illinois newspapers.
Sangamon Valley Collection
Lincoln Library
326 South Seventh Street
Springfield, IL
217-753-4900
The Sangamon Valley Collection closes at 1 p.m. on Fridays.
Regular library hours are observed all other days.
The Sangamon Valley Collection (SVC) provides in-depth resources for the study of Springfield, Illinois, Sangamon County and the eleven adjacent counties. A significant genealogical resource of this colelction is a card index of obituaries published in the Springfield IL newspapers from the mid-1800's to the present. The index contains basic information and references the newspaper in which the obituary was published. Microfilm copies of those papers are available on the same floor of the library.
Pawnee Public Library
704 Seventh St.
Pawnee, IL 62558
Phone: 1–271–625–7716
The Pawnee Public Library holds microfilm copies of local newspapers and cemetery records.
Riverton Village Library
1200 E. Riverton Rd.
Riverton, IL 62561
Phone: 1–217–629-6353
Rochester Public Library District
#1 Community Drive
Rochester, IL 62563 Phone: 1–217–498–8454
Sherman Public Library District
2100 E. Andrew Road
Sherman, IL 62684 Phone: 1–217-496-2496
West Sangamon Public Library District
103 East Illinois
New Berlin, IL 62670
Phone:1–217–488–7733
Williamsville Public Library
102 South Elm Street
Williamsville, Illinois 62693
Phone: 1–217–566-3520
Social Groups Online
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
The original Sangamon County birth records are held by the Sangamon County Clerk and the Illinois Department of Public Health . In addtion there are some Springfield City birth records.
Indexes to births
- [1884–1887]–Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Sangamon County, Illinois Birth Record Index. Springfield, Ill.: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 2000. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL Book 977.356 V2sc
- [1860–1916] Delayed birth index cards. 4 records only for 1860–1862. 1865 missing. FHL Films 2208237–2208239
Copies of birth records for Sangamon County are available through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) at Northern Illinois University and the Family History Library as follows:
- [1860-1917]–Birth Certificates IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1912-1917]–Birth Record (Springfield) IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1923–1929]–Birth Certificates, Delayed (Springfield) IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD . Delayed birth records include submissions by individuals who were born before the state officially collected birth records, but who are in need of a birth record for identification.These may include affidavits by family members or Bible records.
The following are abstracts of birth records:
- [1860-1883]–Birth Records FHL book 977.356 V2br v.1, v.2
Marriages
The original Sangamon County birth records are held by the Sangamon County Clerk. After 1962, copies are also held by the Illinois Department of Public Health .
Indexes
- [1821–1955]–Marriage Record Index IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD.
- [1821–1900]– Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- [1821–1850] Illinois Statewide Marriage Index Ancestry ($)
- [1825–1889]–Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Divorce index, Sangamon County, Illinois, October 1825-October 1899. Springfield, Illinois : Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1988. Other Libraries (WorldCat) FHL Book 977.356 V22di
The following copies are available:
- [1879–1975]–Marriage License Applications IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD.
- [1821–1901]–Marriage Licenses IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD. Some of these records held by IRAD are original county records.
- [1821–1874]–Marriage Licenses FHL Films 2132335 –2132360
The following abstracts are available:
- [1821-1907]–Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Marriage Records, Sangamon County, Illinois. Springfield, Illinois: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1977-2006. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.356 V2m v.1–10
- [1822–1870]–Daughters of the American Revolution. Sangamon County, Marriage Records. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL film 848654 Items 3-7, 848655 Item 1
- [1879-1881, 1886–1889]– Sangamon County, Illinois Marriage Applications. Springfield, Illinois: Allers and Gochanour, 1986. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL Fiche 6093349–6093350 Book 977.356 V28s v.1–4 (Library lacks v.2–3)
- Walter R. Sanders. Sangamon County, Illinois, 325 Miscellaneous Marriage Records. Litchfield, Ill. 196-? Typescript. Other Libraries (WorldCat) FHL Film 823698 Item 16
Deaths
Death records prior to 1916 are incomplete. The original Sangamon County death records are held by the Sangamon County Clerk and the Illinois Department of Public Health . Use the index to discover the death date and death certificate number for an ancestor, then contact the Sangamon County Clerk to order the corresponding death certificate. In addition, some Springfield City burial and death records are available.
Indexes
- [1868–1888] Sangamon County, Illinois death certificate card index. Manuscript on film. FHL Film 2208240 Item 2 Few records prior to 1886.
- [1850–1880] U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules Ancestry ($) Only includes those persons who died within the year previous to the census enumeration.
Copies of death records for Sangamon County are available through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) at Northern Illinois University and the Family History Library as follows:
- [1877-1927]–Death Certificates IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1886-1918]– Death Record (Springfield) IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1908-1916]– Burial Permit Record (Springfield:) IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1917-1958]–Death Certificates,Stillbirths IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
- [1932-1949]–Burial Certificates, Veterans Only IRAD–UIS. Search for Sangamon records. How to use IRAD
The following abstracts are available:
- [1878–1890} Sangamon County Genealogical Society. Sangamon County, Illinois Physician's Certificate of Death, 1878–1890.Springfield, Illinois: Sangamon County Genealogical Society, 1997. Other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL Book 977.356 V2p
Researching Your Roots in Central Illinois offers the following free online death indexes:
- WWII U.S. Army Deaths
- Sangamon County Patient Deaths at the Illinois State Hospital (1910s-1930s)
- Portuguese Deaths 1886-1888 and 1916-1918
- Pritchett Funeral Home (Illiopolis) Book I (Feb 1921 - Oct 1939) and Book II (Oct 1939 - Mar 1962)
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Sangamon County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Sangamon County, Illinois (Researching Your Roots in Central Illinois). Cemetery, Church Records, Directories, Guardianship, Local Histories, Oibtuaries, Naturalizations, Probate Records, Soldier's and Sailor's Home, Tax Lists, Vital Records
References
- ↑ Illinois Courts - Seventh Judicial District http://www.state.il.us/court/CircuitCourt/CircuitMap/7th.asp#Sangamon
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:45.
- This page has been accessed 6,181 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



