Santa Cruz County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png ArizonaGotoarrow.png Santa Cruz County

Guide to Santa Cruz County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Santa Cruz County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Santa Cruz County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 15, 1899
County Seat Nogales
Courthouse
Address 2150 N Congress Dr.

Nogales, AZ 85621
(520) 375-7800
TDD for the Hearing Impaired (520)761-7816

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Santa Cruz County, Arizona
 

Contents

County Courthouse

Santa Cruz County Courthouse
2150 North Congress Drive
P O Box 1265
Nogales, AZ 85628-1265
Phone: 520-761-7800

Clerk Superior Court has marriage,
divorce, probate and Court Records from 1899,
military records 1888-1085
and adoption records from 1940 [1]

History

Santa Cruz County lies directly south of Tucson. The town of Nogales is the county seat. Nogales is also a major border crossing between the United States and Mexico, and is part of a 'twin border city' situation. The Santa Cruz river runs north out of Mexico towards Tucson.

The historic Catholic mission near Tubac on I-19 was significant in the history of the area. However, any records that were produced when this was an active parish were not kept there, but may be in the Diocese in Tucson. Other missions are also nearby, mainly San Xavier which is in Pima County closer to Tucson.

Parent County

15 Mar 1899 - Arizona created Santa Cruz County from land in Pima County.[11] County seat: Nogales [12] This county named for the Santa Cruz River. Look for records in Pima and Santa Cruz counties.

Boundary Changes

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Agua Linda Carmen Kino Springs Otero Sotos Crossing (hist.)
Alto Casa Piedra Lochiel Partridge (hist.) Trench Camp
Amado Duquesne Madera Canyon Patagonia Tubac
Beyerville Elgin Nogales Rio Rico Tumacacori
Calabasas Hacienda Los Encino Old Glory Ruby Washington Camp
Canelo Harshaw Oro Blanco Sonoita









Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Santa Cruz County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Nogales

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Santa Cruz County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azsantacruz.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Santa Cruz County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Santa Cruz - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

The Tumacacori National Historical Park has created a website with searchable Spanish Mission Records as well as an annotated bibliography of the Tohono O'odham (Papago Indians).  Along with transcribed marriage records from the Cathedral of Culiacan in spanish, Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

Societies and Libraries

Pimeria Alta Historical Society
136 North Grand Ave.
Nogales, AZ 85621
PO Box 2281
Nogales, AZ 85628
Telephone 520-287-4621
Hours 10-4 Thurs.-Sat

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History CentersNogales Arizona Family History Center

Nogales Arizona
621 W Green Pl
Nogales, Santa Cruz, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-281-0368

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Santa Cruz County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  5. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  6. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  7. N.M. Terr. Laws 1859-1860, 9th assy. /p. 74
  8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1861-1862, 11th assy. /p. 18
  9. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  10. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  11. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1899, 20th assy./ pp. 49-57
  12. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:30.
  • This page has been accessed 5,269 times.