Santee Sioux Indian Agency (Nebraska)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Santee Sioux Indian Agency (Nebraska)


Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Santee Sioux, Flandreau Sioux, and Ponca

History

The Santee Sioux Agency, or at least the name, was established in 1866 when the Sioux which had been assigned to the Crow Creek Agency moved to a reservation in Nebraska. It was the successor to the old St. Peters Agency. The headquarters was located about 13 miles below the mouth of the Niobrara River on the west side of the Missouri River.[1][2]

Agents and Appointment Dates

Asa M. Janney 1869, Joseph Webster 1871, Charles H. Searing August 27, 1875, John G. Gasmann April 25, 1877, John W. Douglas, March 28, 1878 and Isaiah Lightner April 25, 1877 [3]

Records

Many of the records of the Santee Sioux Agency have been incorporated into the records of the Winnebago Agency. The historical records of the Winnebago Agency are in the Central Plains Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Kansas City[4]. The records of the Santee Sioux in that collection includecensus records, family records, birth and death records, a marriage register, and other administrative records, 1861-1947.

Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Santee Sioux Agency, 1871-1876, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Rolls 768-769[5]. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 1661498 thru 1661499).

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Santee Sioux Agency, 1873-1875, and for the Santee and Flandreau Agency, 1880-1900, are on roll 47 of that Microcopy set[6]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll number 1617720).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1885-1907, and 1909-1917. The rolls for 1885 throu 1898 also in clude the Ponca Indians and the Flandreau Sioux. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 475 thru 477[7]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 581485-581487). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Records available through the Family History Library

School census 1927-1928, 1931-1932 FHL Film: 1012662 Item 3

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 163-164.
  2. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 157.
  3. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
  4. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
  6. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Micrcopy M1070, p. 48.
  7. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, P. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 March 2013, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 2,572 times.