Saskatchewan Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Saskatchewan Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Local churches and regional and national church archives may have the following types of records: minutes of meetings, correspondence, records of church-affiliated organizations, and records of baptisms, marriages, and burials.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Saskatchewan Catholic Church Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

The Saskatchewan Archives Board is the repository for the following church records: Diocese of Qu’Appelle Archives (Anglican), Diocese of Saskatoon Archives (Anglican), Saskatchewan Conference of the United Church of Canada (which includes the Congregational Methodist Church and part of the Presbyterian churches which were combined in 1925), and microfilm copies of some other church records. Access to baptismal, marriage and death records is subject to permission of the donors.

Listed below are addresses for some of the major denominations in Saskatchewan.

Contents

Anglican

The Archivist, Trevor J. D. Powell
Diocese of Qu’Appelle Archives
1501 College Avenue
Regina, SK S4P 1B8
CANADA
Telephone: 306-787-4066
Fax: 306-787-1975

Mr. Douglas Bocking
Diocese of Saskatoon Archives
P.O. Box 1965
Saskatoon, SK S7K 3S5
CANADA

Diocese of Saskatchewan Archives
P.O. Box 1088
2030 - 2nd Avenue West
Prince Albert, SK S6V 5S6
CANADA
Telephone: 306-763-2455
Fax: 306-764-5172

Baptist

Canadian Baptist Archives
McMaster Divinity College
Hamilton, ON L8S 4K1
CANADA

Catholic

Regina Archdiocese
2522 Retallack Street
Regina, SK S4T 2L3
CANADA

Gravelbourg Diocese
P.O. Box 690
Gravelbourg, SK S0H lX0
CANADA
Telephone: 306-648-2615

Prince Albert Diocese
1415 - 4th Avenue West
Prince Albert, SK S6V 5H1
CANADA
Telephone: 306-763-2778

Saskatoon Diocese
106 - 5th Avenue North
Saskatoon, SK S7K 2N7
CANADA
Telephone: 306-242-7831

Lutheran

Evangelical Lutheran Church of Canada—Saskatchewan Synod

707-601 Spadina Crescent East
Saskatoon, SK S7K 3G8
CANADA
Telephone: 306-244-2474

Manitoba-Saskatchewan District
Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod
1927 Grant Drive
Regina, SK S4S 4V6
CANADA

Archives of the Central Canada Synod Lutheran Church in America
c/o Lutheran Theological Seminary
114 Seminary Crescent
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0X3
CANADA

Mennonite

Centre for Mennonite Brethren
Studies in Canada
169 Riverton Avenue Suite 3
Winnipeg, MB R2L 2E5
CANADA
Telephone: 204-669-6575

Mennonite Heritage Centre Archives
600 Shaftesbury Boulevard
Winnipeg, MB R3P 0M4
CANADA
Telephone: 204-888-6781

Presbyterian

Clerk of the Synod of Saskatchewan
Presbyterian Church in Canada
c/o First Presbyterian Church
2127 Albert Street
Regina, SK S4P 2V1
CANADA

Ukrainian Greek Catholic

Saskatoon Diocese
Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church
866 Saskatchewan Crescent East
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0L4
CANADA

Ukrainian Greek Orthodox

Consistory of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Canada
9 St. Johns Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R2W 1G8
CANADA
Telephone: 204-582-8709

United Church of Canada

Saskatchewan Conference
United Church of Canada
St. Andrew’s College Library
1121 College Drive
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0W3
CANADA
Telephone: 306-966-8983

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City and the National Archives of Canada have some microfilm copies of original parish registers and transcripts, many of which are indexed.

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2013, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 3,503 times.