Saunders County, NebraskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nebraska
Saunders County
Saunders County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Saunders County, Nebraska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nebraska | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska Location of Nebraska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 26, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Wahoo |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Saunders County Courthouse P.O. Box 61 Wahoo, Nebraska 68066 Phone: 402.443.8101 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Saunders County CourthousePO Box 61;
Wahoo, NE 68066
Phone: 402.443.8101
County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce,
probate, court and land records. [1]
History
Parent County
1856--Saunders County was created 26 January 1856 from Lancaster and Douglas Counties. County seat: Wahoo [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Saunders County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Past and Present of Saunders County Nebraska: A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement -- Vol. 1 -- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1915/index.html . Vol 2 -- Biographical Sketches Names Index: http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1915/vol2/vol2-names.html
Saunders County Nebraska, Saunders County History 1983, Sponsored by the Saunders County Historical Society and Written by the People of Saunders County, Nebraska (Library of Congress No. 83- 050295) http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1983hist/ Family Stories Index http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1983hist/famnames.html
Maps
Plat Book, Saunders County Nebraska, compiled and published by The Brown-Scoville Publishing Co., 1907 http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1907plat/1907platcvr.html
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Saunders County, Nebraska for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saunders County, Nebraska page 434, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 February 2013, at 16:17.
- This page has been accessed 2,141 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

