Sawley, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Sawley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sawley, Derbyshire
Sawley All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Sawley All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; Separate registers exist for Long Eaton beginning 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1672; Separate records exist for Long Eaton beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sawley
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SAWLEY (All Saints), aparish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby with the chapelry of Long Eaton, and the hamlet of Wilsthorpe, and Long Eaton. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Methodists of the New Connexion. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Sawley with Wilsthorpe registration transferred from Shardlow district in 1934.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Sawley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Sawley All Saints (1654) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1656-1837 None 1813-1830 None
FSPR NONE NONE 1911-1912 None 1813-1912 None

Long Eaton, Derbyshire was a chapelry within this parish until 1864

Derbyshire Record Office reference D2110 has deposited registers Bap 1654-1691,1697-1988 Mar 1654-1691, 1697-1987 Burials 1654-1691, 1697-1986 Banns 1899-1951,1966-1982

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1672-1852 Mar 1672-1852 Burials 1672-1852 Missing all events for 1841 and Bap/Bur 1852-1858

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 23-26. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,510 times.