Sawyer County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sawyer County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sawyer County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1848|
|Address|| Sawyer County Courthouse|
10610 Main; PO Box 273;
Hayward, WI 54843
Sawyer County Courthouse
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
- Index to Sawyer County Names Includes instructions on how to get information on these names. USGenWeb Archives
- Sawyer County Cemeteries - partial list with some links. WIGenWeb project
- 1850 Missisippi and Lake Superior Chippewa Annuity Roll Records WIGenWeb project
- 1858 La Pointe Bands and Lac Courte Orielles Bands of Chippewa Annuity Records WIGenWeb project
- 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census - Residents of the Village of Hayward WIGenWeb project
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census - Rural Residents of Sawyer County WIGenWeb project
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census - Indian Residents of the Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation WIGenWeb project
- 1895 Wisconsin State Census Index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
- 1890 - All Surviving Soldiers, Sailors, Marines, Widows of the Civil War (War of the Rebellion) WIGenWeb project
- 1910 Federal Census Head of Household Index for Sawyer Co. WIGenWeb project
Church History and Records
First Congregational Church Church, Hayward
Crime and Criminals
- 1947 Farm Directory for Sawyer County - Scroll down to alphabetical index. WIGenWeb project
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames A - C USGenWeb Archives
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames D - G USGenWeb Archives
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames H - K USGenWeb Archives
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames L - O USGenWeb Archives
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames P - S USGenWeb Archives
- Land Patents Database, Sawyer County - Surnames T - Z USGenWeb Archives
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Sawyer County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military History and Records
- Individual Civil War Record Biographys WIGenWeb project
World War I
- Veterans of World War I Casualty List WIGenWeb project
World War II
- Winter's Roll of Honor - listing of those who served from Winter, Wisconsin. WIGenWeb project
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Sawyer County Historical Society
PO Box 384
Hayward, WI 54843
Area Research Center
Wisconsin Historical Society History Center and Archives
29270 County Highway G
Ashland, WI 54806-9339
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Pre-1907 Sawyer County Births WIGenWeb project
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Pre-1907 Marriage Index by Bride or Groom WIGenWeb project
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Pre-1907 Death Index WIGenWeb project
- Sawyer County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sawyer County WIGenWeb project
- Sawyer County Archives USGenWeb Archives
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Sawyer County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2016, at 19:51.
- This page has been accessed 5,896 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News