Saxthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to  Saxthorpe, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saxthorpe, Norfolk
Saxthorpe St Andrew.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SAXTHORPE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Reepham. [1]
Saxthorpe St Andrew is an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich . 

Saxthorpe has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Saxthorpe is recorded by the name ‘’Sastorp’’, “Saxiorp” and “Saxthorp” it is said to be in the ownership of the King and in the custardy of Godric, Count Alan and Ribralt from him. The survey also notes that there are 50 goats, 20 cattle and 4 cobs.

The Parish Church of Saint Andrew was constructed in 1482 by the lord of the manor although chancel and tower are thought to be older. The church has a 15th century screen with tracery above panels which are decorated with flowers and foliage. The beams of the north aisle roof have a boss with a grinning lion carving. The altar rail is carved with pillars and balusters and date from the 17th century. The church is a Grade I listed building.

Church Records

Saxthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Saxthorpe, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1880
1602-1811
1600-1811
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880

This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 429

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

Registration events after 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes O through S

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

External Links

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 23-26. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 October 2014, at 16:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,735 times.