Saxton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Saxton

Guide to Saxton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saxton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SAXTON (All Saints), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; containing Towton township, and the township of Saxton with Scarthingwell, 4¼ miles (S. by W.) from Tadcaster.   There is a place of worship for Wesleyans[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Saxton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry (£)
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SAXTON PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1539-1812
1539-1812 1539-1812
BIVRI 1880-1886


FMP 1539-1886 1539-1886 1540-1887 1540-1887 1538-1886 1538-1886
FS 1539-1888

1689-1901
1883-1902

JOIN None

1540-1753

None

This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1539.

Census records


References

Bibliography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-26. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 17 November 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,507 times.