Scarborough St Mary, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Scarborough St Mary, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Scarborough St Mary, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Scarborough PLU|
|Parish registers: 1672|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
SCARBOROUGH (St. Mary), a borough, markettown, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in Pickering lythe, N. riding of York, 39 miles (N. E.) from York, and 216 (N.) from London. Another church, called St. Thomas, was erected in 1840, by private subscription. A chapel called the Bethel, formerly the townhall, is attended chiefly by fishermen; and there are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Scarborough St Mary exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SCARBOROUGH ST MARY PARISH (1602) Online Records|
|| 1752, 1792, 1827-1828
|| 1602-1682, 1813-1837
|SEAMER PARISH or STOKESLEY (1601) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Scarborough St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Scarborough St. Mary page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464237.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 26-30. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 15 January 2015, at 16:11.
- This page has been accessed 2,084 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More