Scarborough St ThomasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Scarborough

Guide to Scarborough St Thomas, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Scarborough St Thomas
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarborough Borough
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Scarborough PLU
Registration District Scarborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dickering
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SCARBOROUGH (St. Mary), a borough, markettown, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in Pickering lythe, N. riding of York, 39 miles (N. E.) from York, and 216 (N.) from London. Another church, called St. Thomas, was erected in 1840, by private subscription. A chapel called the Bethel, formerly the townhall, is attended chiefly by fishermen; and there are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  SCARBOROUGH ST THOMAS PARISH (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1602-1847

1602-1891

None

JOIN None

1602-82 & 1813-37

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Scarborough St. Thomas to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Scarborough St. Thomas page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464237.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 26-30. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 924 times.