Schaumburg Illinois Family History CenterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Center Contacts and Hours
Location & Map:
- 1320 W Schaumburg Rd Schaumburg, IL60194 United States
- Enter off of Schaumburg road and drive around to the north parking lot at the rear of the building. There is only one entrance on this side of the building. Push buzzer for access during regular hours.
- Location Map
- 1320 W Schaumburg Rd Schaumburg, IL60194 United States
Open Hours: *NOTE* it is always a good idea to call and make sure the Center is open especially during times of bad weather.
- Tuesday 6 pm - 9 pm
- Wednesday 1 pm - 9 pm
- Thursday 2 pm - 9 pm
- Saturday 9 am - 1 pm
Holiday Schedule: 2015
- Closed Saturday October 3rd for fall General Conference
- Closed Tuesday November 23 thru and including Saturday 28th for Thanksgiving
- Closed Monday December 21 thru Monday Jan 4, reopen Tuesday Jan 5
Calendar and Events
Come join us to do Family Search Indexing. Free Pizza & Snacks
Friday, November 8, 2014 7:00 PM Schaumburg Family History Center
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 7:00 PM How to Add Sources to Family Tree
Thursday, June 26, 2014 7:00 PM Fan Chart, Family Group Sheets, Auxiliary Line
Tuesday, September 16, 2014 7:00 PM Immigrant and Ship Records and Naturalizations
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 7:00 PM Government Documents
FamilySearch has over 400 online classes available for everyone from the beginner to the more advanced researcher at the Family Search Learning Center.
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
- We have a small collection of books on the following subjects: Chicago, Illinois, Ohio, Utah, Canada, England, Germany, Ireland, Poland, Scotland, United States, Wales, Africa, Asia, Central America, South America, genealogy, atlases, and dictionaries.
Databases and Software
Family History Center Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. These websites include:
- Access//Newspaper Archive - World's largest online newspaper archive, Features billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U. S. and the world. Full page and fully searchable
- Alexander Street Press – American Civil War – Research database, letters, diaries, photos and posters, 60 collections of audio tracks, videos, images, and playlists in humanities, Literature, Music, Women's History, Black History, Psychological Counseling and Therapy, Social and Cultural History, Drama, Theater, Film and performing Arts, Religion, Sociology
- Ancestry Family History Library Edition – U. S. federal and state census records, vital records, passenger lists, Canadian census, church, and vital records, UK census records, birth, marriage and death indexes, and other international records.
- Find My Past Institution edition: BMD indexes for England and Wales, parish registers, death duty registers, passport applications, passenger lists leaving UK, 1841 through 1911 censuses, and military records.
- 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archives – This database provides images from 49 national and regional English, Welsh, Scottish and Irish newspapers from 1800 to 1900.
- Fold 3 (previous known as Footnote) – Resources cover colonial to mid-1900s US records. Includes some census records, vital records, photos, city directories, newspapers, town records, naturalizations, Revolutionary War records and Civil war and later military indexes, World War II "Old man's Draft" Cards, War of 1812 Pension Files, Mexican War Service Records, World War I Officer Experience Reports, Confederate Casualty Reports.
- Paper Trails - Index to Mormon and Oregon Trail Diaries
- World Vital Records – Worldwide records including immigration, some U.S., Canadian and U.K. censuses, vital records, parish and land records, family histories, directories, court probate records, digitized books and newspapers, Irish wills and censuses, German Hungarian land census, Scottish death records, England and Wales BMD.
- ArkivDigital Online ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.
- Legacy Stories - Put the leaves on your family tree by giving voice to your ancestors. LegacyStories.Org is a social network for all things heritage. Provides a secure platform to upload stories and photos and add recorded narration. The resulting pictures, stories, and narration can be linked as source records on FamilySearch Family Tree.
- Create your Who Do You Think You Are? Story, for free Brought to you by Find My Past Create your own unique Who Do You Think You Are? Experience. Discover what shaped the lives of your family and watch your story unfold.
- Historic Map Works Library Edition Historic Map Works™ Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps. The core of the collection consists of cadastral (property and land ownership) maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States and also includes illustrations, city directories, and more. This unique content allows genealogists, historians, and academic researchers to track the "residential genealogy" of families and locations.
- MyHeritage Library Edition features over 5 billion primary historical records from the United States, Europe, and other regions, with coverage starting from the 16th century. Often accompanied by true document images, these records illuminate historical realities across a wide variety of regions.
- Puzzilla.org Premium services For use with Family Search.org Family Tree Descendants Viewer lets you see hundreds of descendant of your ancestors from an aerial view using compact symbols to reveal patterns of incomplete research. You can pick up where prior research left off. Click on a pedigree ancestor and Puzzilla will show you their descendants, revealing holes where research might uncover spouses, children, and generations of relatives waiting for you to find them.
- ProQuest Obituary Listings is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as The New York Times (dating back to 1851).
Hardware and Equipment
We have 4 computers, 6 microfilm readers, a microfilm printer, a multi-function scanner and a printer/copier.
Staff Research Specialties
Various staff members have expertise in Spanish, Italian, German, Polish, Swedish, Hungarian, German, and Early American research. Please call the center at 847-885-4130 for times that individual specialists would be available.
Resources in the Local Area
Volunteer at the Center
Additional volunteers are always needed and welcome. The first and foremost quality you will need to volunteer at the Schaumburg Family History Center is a desire to help other people to research their family history. You do not need any particualr expertise in doing family history research; serving at the Family History Center is a great way to learn how. You also do not need to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. If you would like more information about becoming one of our volunteers. Training is available. If interested, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 18:39.
- This page has been accessed 3,394 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News