Schoolcraft County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Schoolcraft County
Guide to Schoolcraft County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Schoolcraft County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 9, 1843 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Manistique |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Schoolcraft County Courthouse 300 Walnut St. #164 Manistique, MI 49854-1491 Phone: (906) 341-3618 Schoolcraft County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce, court and land records from 1870. Probate Court has probate records from 1870. [1]
History
Parent County
1843--Schoolcraft County was created 9 March 1843 from Chippewa and Mackinac Counties. It was attached to Chippewa, Houghton, and Marquette Counties prior to organization 23 March 1871. County seat: Manistique [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Lakeview Cemetery, Manistique, MI
Fairview Cemetery, Manistique, MI
Thompson Cemetery, Thompson, MI
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Schoolcraft County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Schoolcraft County.
- -
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
- www.seekingmichigan.org is a free database that has Michigan Death Certificates from 1897-1920, Civil war volunteer records, property records and other historical documents.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- www.seekingmichigan.org is a free collection of historical documents and vital records.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Schoolcraft County, Michigan page 350, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,554 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
