Schuyler County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Schuyler County

Guide to Schuyler County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Schuyler County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Schuyler County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 13, 1825
County Seat Rushville
Courthouse
Schuyler County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Schuyler County Courthouser
102 S. Congress Street
Rushville, Illinois 62681
(618) 664-0449
Schuyler County Website
 

Contents

Schuyler County Organization

Schuyler County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Schuyler County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1825
1877
1830
1817
1825

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Schuyler County are kept, see the Schuyler County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Philip Schuyler.jpg
Schuyler County is named for Philip Schuyler who was a general in the American Revolution and later was a member of the New York Senate.

Parent County

  • 1825--Schuyler County was created 13 January 1825 from Pike and Fulton Counties.  County seat:  Rushville [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Schuyler County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Schuyler County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Published Records


Online Gravestone Transcriptions

  • Find A Grave.com has burial information for over 100 Schuyler County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.


Cemetery Gazetters

  • Epodunk has a list of Schuyler County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190016,129
191014,852−7.9%
192013,285−10.6%
193011,676−12.1%
194011,430−2.1%
19509,613−15.9%
19608,746−9.0%
19708,135−7.0%
19808,3652.8%
19907,498−10.4%
20007,189−4.1%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Schuyler County on page 188.]

Church Records

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Schuyler County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Abstracts

  • 1867–1921 Smith, Paul G.C. Schuyler County, Illinois dependent children case files index, 1909-1920 & insanity case files index, 1867-1921: accession number 2/0049/05, Western Illinois University, Illinois Regional Archives Depository. FHL book 977.3475 P22s

Copies of original records

  • 1825–1890 County Clerk's Miscellaneous Files IRAD–WIU

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

  • Biographical Review of Cass, Schuyler and Brown Counties, Illinois: Containing Biographical Sketches of Pioneers and Leading Citizens. Chicago: Biographical Review Pub. Co., 1892. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Genealogy Trails; Internet Archive; USGenWeb (partial).
  • Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Schuyler County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1908. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Schuyler County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of original records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Schuyler County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Online Resources

Maps

Ilschuyler.jpg

Military

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men from Schuyler County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Schuyler County.

- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 16th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 28th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 78th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 119th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, and F.
- 137th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K.

Naturalization

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Schuyler County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • 1823–1933 The probate records, will records, administrator records, guardian records, and order books for Schuyler County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Hamilton County, and select the record type you are interested in.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Schuyler County probates may be found in the Illinois, Schuyler – Probate topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Schuyler County are kept, see the Schuyler County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Schuyler County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Schuyler County.

Public Libraries

Rushville Public Library
104 North Monroe St.
Rushville, IL 62681
Tel: 217-322-3030
Fax: 217-322-3030
Email: library1@adams.net  

Social Groups Online

Societies

Schuyler-Brown County Genealogical Society
200 South Congress
Rushville, IL 62681

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Schuyler County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Schuyler County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Birth

Online Resources

Marriages

Online Resources

Death

Copies of original Death Records

Online Resources

Also found at genealogytrails.com.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Schuyler births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Schuyler – Vital Records topic page and the Illinois, Schuyler – Vital Records - Newspapers topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 9,127 times.