Sco Ruston St Michael, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ruins of St. Michael Sco Ruston.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Sco Ruston St Michael is a parish in the Waxham deanery and Tunstead Hundred of the Diocese of Norwich. This was never a populous parish and its parishioners were gradually subsumed into neighbouring Scottow, Norfolk & Tunstead, Norfolk.

The mediaeval church was photographed in ruin in 1978 by George Plunkett (see web link below) before it was deroofed and became covered in ivy.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[2]
Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1707-1812 1726-1835
TIN 1813-1880


Deposited parish registers at Norfolk Record Office reference PD 258/ 1-7 1707-1967

It is also necessary to search the neighbouring parishes of Scottow, Norfolk & Tunstead, Norfolk due to the decline and ruin of the medieval church.

Census records


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/ScoRuston.htm transcript of 1891 census


Poor Law Unions

For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.workhouses.org.uk/Smallburgh/

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  2. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 April 2014, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 743 times.