Scotland - Marriage - 1855-PresentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Scotland: Research Strategies for Locating Births, Marriages and Deaths

Here is a prioritized list of sources recommended for finding a marriage between 1855 and the present.

Contents

Marriage Certificate: Civil registration

Civil registration is the government registration of births, marriages, and deaths beginning 1 January 1855. In these records you may find the names of the bride and groom; their ages (which you can use to determine a year of birth), marriage date and place, marital status, residences, occupations, fathers' names and occupations, and mothers' names and maiden names; whether they were married according to the forms of the Church of Scotland or another church; and the names of witnesses. Civil registration marriage records cover most of the population and are indexed countrywide. Use the general index to identify and obtain a copy of a marriage certificate.

Read more about civil registration records

Birth Certificate: Civil registration

Civil registration is the government registration of births, marriages, and deaths beginning 1 January 1855. In these records you may find a child's name, sex, birth date and place, father's name and occupation, mother's name and maiden name, parents' marriage date and place (from 1861), and the name, residence, and relationship of a person present at the birth. Civil registration birth records cover most of the population and are indexed countrywide. Use the general index to identify and obtain a copy of a birth certificate.

Read more about civil registration records.

Death Certificate: Civil registration

Civil registration is the government registration of births, marriages, and deaths beginning 1 January 1855. In these records you may find the name of the deceased; his or her cause of death, death date and place, rank or profession, marital status, sex, age, spouse's name, father's name and rank or profession, and mother's name and maiden name; and the signature, relationship, and residence of the informant. Civil registration death records cover most of the population and are indexed countrywide. Use the general index to identify and obtain a copy of a death certificate.

Read more about civil registration records

Census: Census

A census is a count and description of the population. Government census records were taken every ten years starting in 1841. The 1841 through 1891 censuses are currently available. They are especially valuable because they list the majority of the population and are available at many repositories. In these records you may find names of the members of a household, and each person's age, gender, marital status, relationship to the head of the household, occupation, address, and place of birth. Census records can provide clues that may lead you to other records.

Read more about census records.

Information about census records for a particular parish can be found in the Wiki on that parish's information page. In the search field above and to the left, type in the name of the parish and click on Search.

Church of Scotland: Church records

Church records are the christenings or baptisms, marriages, and burials recorded in registers by church officials at the time of an event. Marriage records usually give only the names of the bride and groom and the date and place of marriage. Residences and the husband's occupation may be given.

Read more about Church of Scotland records.

Information about extant church records for a particular parish can be found in the Wiki on that parish's information page. In the search field above and to the left, type in the name of the parish and click on Search.

Nonconformist Churches: Church records

Anyone who did not adhere to the teachings of the Established Church of Scotland was considered a nonconformist or a dissenter. Dissenters could also include people who belonged to religious organizations that broke from the Established church. Dissenter groups kept separate records. In these records you may find baptisms, marriages, minutes of meetings, communion rolls, and other items of value.

Read more about nonconformist churches in the article on the Scotland Church Record Union Lists.

Information about extant nonconformist church records for a particular parish can be found in the Wiki on that parish's information page. In the search field above and to the left, type in the name of the parish and click on Search.


[Return to the Strategies page.]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 November 2012, at 02:23.
  • This page has been accessed 4,588 times.