Scott County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Arkansas
Scott County
Guide to Scott County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Scott County, Arkansas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Arkansas | |||||||
![]() Location of Arkansas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | November 5, 1833 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Waldron | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Scott County Courthouse 100 W 1 St Ste 1; Waldron, AR 72958 Phone: 501.637.2155 | ||||||
| |||||||
County Courthouse
Scott County Courthouse
100 W 1 St Ste 1;
Waldron, AR 72958
Phone: 501.637.2155
County and and Circuit Clerk has marriave, divorce, probate, land and court records from 1882.[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1882 |
|
|
1882 |
1882 |
History
Parent County
County seat: Waldron [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Scott County boundary changes.
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
Courthouse fire on 22 May 1882 destroyed all previous county records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Genealogy
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Scott County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Scott County, Arkansas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Scott County on page 191.]
Civil War
- Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union).[3]
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scott County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Scott County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Probate Records
Taxation
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- 1882-1958 - Scott County Marriage Books A-I Index 1882-1958 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1882-1926 - Scott County Marriage Books A-D Index 1882-1926 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- Scott County AR Marriages
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- Scott County ARGenWeb Has cemeteries, marriages, biographies, photographs, census indexes, many other county records.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
| This Arkansas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 17:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,794 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

