Scott County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Scott County

Guide to Scott County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Scott County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Scott County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 16, 1839
County Seat Winchester
Courthouse
Scott County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Scott County Courthouse
101 E. Market Street
Winchester, Illinois 62694
(217) 742-3178

Contents

Scott County Organization

Scott County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Scott County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1839
1877
1840
1823
1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Scott County are kept, see the Scott County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Scott County was established on February 16, 1839 from a portion of Morgan County. It's territory was first part of Illinois County, created by Virginia in 1783. In 1787 this sparsely settled county became part of the Territory Northwest of the Ohio River. In 1790 present day Scott became part of St. Clair County which was one of the initial counties located in Indiana Territory when it was formed in 1800. In 1809, that county became part of the new Illinois Territory and Scott county's territory moved through several county organizations as the population of Illinois began to expand rapidly: first Madison in 1812; next Greene in 1821; and as the last step before becoming its own county it became part of Morgan in 1823. This very rural county retains much the look it had during it's early days. See the diagram of the county's derivation at the Scott County ILGenWeb Project

  • Scott County was formed 16 February 1839 from Morgan County.
  • Named after Scott County, Kentucky through influence of emigrants from that county.

Parent County

  • 1839--Scott County was created 16 February 1839 from Morgan County.  County seat:  Winchester [1]

Boundary Changes

  • No known changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities: Winchester

Towns: Naples Villages: Alsey . Bluffs . Exeter . Glasgow . Manchester

Precincts: Alsey . Bloomfield . East Winchester . Exeter . Glasglow . Manchester . Merritt . Naples . North Bluff . North Winchester . Oxville . Point Pleasant . Sandy . South Bluffs . South Winchester

Unincorporated Community: Riggston

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Scott County Cemeteries in the Rootsweb site has many cemeteries listed and some have a list of people buried in those cemeteries. The give coordinates, section, township, and range. If there is a township name, that is also listed.
  • The Scott County website of ILGenWeb has many pages of information on the county's cemeteries at www.pikecoilgenweb.org/index.php.
  • Illinois GenWeb Cemetery Records for Scott County has transcriptions of more than 50 cemeteries.
  • Cemetery Location Project of the Illinois State Genealogical Society lists cemeteries in Scott County by their names, aliases, and locations, noting their type (Church, veterans, etc.), their conditon, and whether they are or have been online.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190010,455
191010,067−3.7%
19209,489−5.7%
19308,539−10.0%
19408,176−4.3%
19507,245−11.4%
19606,377−12.0%
19706,096−4.4%
19806,1420.8%
19905,644−8.1%
20005,537−1.9%
IL Counties 1900-1990
  • 1840 Pensioners
A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Scott County on page 188.]
  • 1850 Census
Index: 1850 Census of Scott County, IL at Rootsweb – Free; index
  • 1850 Mortality Schedule
1850 Scott County Mortality Schedule at Rootsweb – Free; alphabetical
  • 1860 Census
1860 Census of Scott County, IL at Rootsweb – Free; index
  • 1860 Mortality Schedule
1860 Scott County Mortality Schedule at Rootsweb – Free; Alphabetical
  • 1870 Census
1870 Census of Scott County, IL at Rootsweb – Free; Index
  • 1870 Mortality Schedule
1870 Scott County IL Mortality Schedule at Rootsweb – Free; Alphabetical
  • 1880 Mortality Schedule
1880 Scott County IL Mortality Schedule at Rootsweb — Free; Alphabetical

Church Records

The earliest Christian congregations in Scott County were likely Camp Meetings organized by Methodist preachers who came to the area in the early 1820s. The Baptists were also in the county by about 1825. Other denominations didn't appear to be established till later: the Catholics in 1860, Episcopalians in the 1870s, followed by like the Free Methodists and German Lutherans. [2]

A few resources referring to Scott County churches and their records have been found on the internet.

  • See Linkpendium. For references to various church related sources.
  • WorldCat has Scott County church directories for 196? and 1979
  • Records for 1891 to 1900 of the Presbyterian Church in Wincester are available through the Family History Library FHL film 468338 item 2.

Major denomination in Scott County, Illinois include Evangelical Denominations, Catholic Church, American Baptist Churches, Assemblies of God, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Evangelical Lutheran Church, United Methodist Church. To see more about the churches by town, Click here.

Court Records

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Records at the Family History Library

IRAD holdings

  • Deed records 1839 to 1874

Online Resources

Maps

Ilscott.jpg

Military

Civil War 1861–1865

Civil War service men from Scott County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Scott County.

- 14th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 28th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 129th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D, F, H, and I.
- 137th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E.

Other Civil War records may be locate to help you with your ancestors.

Spanish-American War 1898

Naturalization and Citizenship

IRAD Holdings

  • Natutalization Records, Circuit Court  1859 to 1904 
  • Naturalization Records, County Court 1864 to1906 

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Scott County are kept, see the Scott County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Though there are no family history centers in Scott County, certers in nearby couties include:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD Depository (UIS)
LIB 144
University of Illinois at Springfield
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield IL 62703-5407
Telephone: (217) 206-6520

Public Libraries

Bluffs Public Library
110 North Bluff Street
Bluffs, IL 62621
Phone: (217) 754-3804

Winchester Public Library
215 North Main Street
Winchester, IL 62694
Phone: (217) 742-3150

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriages were first recorded in Scott County in 1839--when the county was organized. The early marriage records may or may not contain the marriage application (which would contain parent names).  Birth records were first recorded in Scott County in 1860; deaths were first recorded in 1877. It was not until 1916 that the recording of births and deaths became mandatory.  These vital records are available through the Scott County Clerk/Recorder, 35 East Market St., Winchester, IL 62694.  Phone: 217.742.3178.

Birth Records

IRAD Holdings

  • Birth Certificates  1880 to 1900
  • Birth Records  1877 to 1903
  • Birth Records Index  1877 to 1903
  • Birth Afftdavit Records, Chidren of Civil War Casualties  1861 to 1875

Published abstracts:

Marriage Records

IRAD Holdings

  • Marriage License Applications  1876 to 1900
  • Marriage Licenses 1876 to 1927
  • Marriage Records 1839 to 1914
  • Marriage Record Index 1839 to1945

Published abstracts:

Death Records

IRAD Holdings

  • Death Records 1877 to 1913
  • Death Record Index 1877 to 1913

Published abstracts:

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Scott county bicentennial book, 1976, ([S.l.] : Bluffs Times : Winchester Times, 1976)p. 28-33.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 8,448 times.