Scott County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Scott County

Guide to Scott County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Kemper Hall in Davenport, Scott County, Iowa

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records




Scott County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Scott County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Davenport
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

The Davenport Public Library has most of the courthouse records on microfilm. www.davenportlibrary.com/
The Davenport Iowa Family History Center has many local records on microfilm, also.

History

Parent County

1837--Scott County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque, Cook, and Muscatine Counties.
County seat:  Davenport [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Bettendorf

Blue Grass

Buffalo

Davenport

Dixon

Donahue

Durant

Eldridge

Le Claire

Long Grove

Maysville

McCausland

New Liberty

Panorama Park

Princeton

Riverdale

Walcott

Neighboring Counties

Cedar • Clinton • Muscatine • Rock Island County, Illinois

Scott CountyMuscatine CountyCedar CountyClinton CountyLouisa CountyJohnson CountyLinn CountyJones CountyJackson CountyRock Island CountyHenry CountyWhiteside CountyCarroll CountyMercer CountyIAScott.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records can be found at the Davenport Public Library and at the Davenport Iowa Family History Center.

Census

Davenport Public Libary has put an index to the 1856, 1885, and 1925 Census for Scott County on the Internet. As of 29 April 2010, the 1925 index is still in data entry, and there are a stack of books several inches tall yet to be entered. If you'd like to help, contact Janet Greenlee of the the Scott County Iowa Genealogical Society (j dot .greenlee at hotmail dot com).

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the Zion Lutheran Church, Davenport, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

The Davenport Public Library has most of the local records on microfilm. www.davenportlibrary.com/

The Davenport Iowa Family History Center has many local records on microfilm, also.

Genealogy

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Scott County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Fifty years in Iowa : being the personal reminiscences of J.M.D. Burrows, concerning the men and events, social life, industrial interests, physical development, and commercial progress of Davenport and Scott County during the period from 1838 to 1888. By J. M. D. Burrows. Davenport, Iowa : Glass & Co., 1888. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online, Google Books.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Scott County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Scott County, Iowa:


- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies C, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies E and I
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies A, C, D, E, G, H, I and M
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B, E, F and K
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies I and K
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company C
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company L
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company M
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company E
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company C
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company E
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company M
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scott County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

The Davenport Public Library has the Davenport Daily Gazette on line, by clicking on Local databases. 

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Scott - Probate records.


The Davenport Public Library has most of the local records on microfilm. www.davenportlibrary.com/

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


The Davenport Public Library has placed the Scott County Marriage Certificates: Index, pre 1836-c1925 on the internet.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers