Scott County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Scott County

Guide to Scott County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Scott County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 28, 1821
County Seat Benton
Courthouse
Address Scott County Courthouse
PO Box 188
Benton, MO 63736-0188
Phone: 573.545.3549
Scott County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records;
Probate Judge has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1821--Scott County was created 28 December 1821 from New Madrid County. County seat: Benton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Alexander County, Illinois  • Cape Girardeau  • Mississippi  • New Madrid  • Stoddard

Cape Girardeau CountyScott CountyBollinger CountyStoddard CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyNew Madrid CountyGibson CountyDyer CountyLake CountyMississippi CountyObion CountyWeakley CountyCarroll CountyHenry CountyFulton CountyHickman CountyCalloway CountyGraves CountyMcCracken CountyBallard CountyCarlisle CountyMarshall CountyLivingston CountyPulaski CountyLyon CountyCrittenden CountyAlexander CountyMassac CountyJohnson CountyUnion CountyHardin CountyPope CountyMOScott.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Scott County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Scott County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Moscott.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
:- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scott County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1883-1886 - Scott County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1883-1886. Batch C515317 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1840-1855, 1863-1876 - Scott County Marriage Index 1840-1855, 1863-1876. Batch M515801 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1881 - Scott County Marriage Index 1865-1885. Batch M515803 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1871-1881 - Scott County Marriage Index 1871-1881. Batch M515802 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1886 - Scott County Death Index, Volume 1, 1883-1886. Batch B515316 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

The Scott County Historical & Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 151
Benton, MO 63736
Email: scottcomohistory@gmail.com
Website: http://www.scottcountygenealogy.org/

Family History Centers



Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Scott County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Scott County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Scott County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Scott County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Scott County, MO Genealogy Forum

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scott County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 01:20.
  • This page has been accessed 4,520 times.