Scott County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Scott County

Scott County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Scott County (established 1849) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records
Scott County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Scott County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Scott County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: December 17, 1849
County Seat Huntsville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Scott County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1854 1901 1850 1850 1892

County Courthouse

Scott County Courthouse, Huntsville, Tenn.


Scott County Courthouse 
283 Court Street
Huntsville, TN 37756-0087
Phone: 423.663.2627 

Register of Deeds has land records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records. [2]



 

Scott County County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
282 Court St.
Huntsville, TN 37756
Phone: 1-423-663-2588

Scott County Register of Deeds
Land records
283 Court St.
Huntsville, TN 37756
Phone: 1-423-663-3075

Scott County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
243 Court St.
Huntsville, TN 37756
Phone: 1-423-663-2440

Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

History

Gen. Winfield Scott (1786-1866)

East Tennessee county.

The county is named after General Winfield Scott (1786-1866).[3]

Parent County

1849--Scott County was established 17 December 1849 from Anderson, Campbell, Fentress, and Morgan counties. Early records may be found under Anderson, Campbell, Fentress, and Morgan counties.
County seat: Huntsville [4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fire.png
1946--Fire damaged courthouse records.[7]

  • Lost census: 1890
  • Lost marriage records: 1842 to 1854
  • Lost probate records: 1842 to 1892

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Black Creek Helenwood New River Smoky Junction 
Black Oak Hembree Newland (hist.) Speck
Bowl (hist.) High Point Newtown Stanley Junction
Clay Hill Hughett Norma State Line
Coal Hill Huntsville Oneida Straight Fork 
Cordell Isham Pine Hill Three Forks
Dean Jeffers Piney Grove Toomy
Doctors (hist.) Ketchen Pleasant Grove Verdun
Elgin Lone Mountain Robbins West Oneida
Elva (hist.) Montgomery Roberta West Robbins
Foster Crossroads Mountain View Rugby Winfield 
Glenmary New Haven Slick Rock Winona

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnscott.png

Getting Started

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Scott County census, court, and land records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 1,905
1860 3,519 84.7%
1870 4,054 15.2%
1880 6,021 48.5%
1890 9,794 62.7%
1900 11,077 13.1%
1910 12,947 16.9%
1920 13,411 3.6%
1930 14,080 5.0%
1940 15,966 13.4%
1950 17,362 8.7%
1960 15,413 −11.2%
1970 14,762 −4.2%
1980 19,259 30.5%
1990 18,358 −4.7%
2000 21,127 15.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Scott County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Scott County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®].

1850

  • Creekmore, Pollyanna. Population Schedule of the United States Census of 1850 (seventh census) for Scott County, Tennessee. Knoxville, Tenn.: Clinchdale Press, 1959. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A1 no. 5.

1850 Agricultural Census

  • Green, Linda L. Tennessee 1850 Agricultural Census. 2 vols. Woodbridge, Va.: L.L. Green, 2000. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2g v. 1 ff. [Scott County is included in Vol. 2.]

1860

1870

1880

1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 5 1891. [Scott County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1900

1910

  • Carson, Louise, Norma Mabe, Evelyn Jeffers and Scott County Historical Society. 1910 Census, Scott County, Tennessee. Huntsville, Tenn.: Scott County Historical Society, 1995?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.871 X2s 1910.

1920

  • Lemasters, Paul W. and Scott County Historical Society. 1920 Census, Scott County, Tennessee. Huntsville, Tenn.: Scott County Historical Society, 1994. FHL US/CAN Book 976.871 X2L 1920.

Church

Court

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Scott, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 75,000 entries.

Bibliography

Land

The original Scott County Deed Books are kept at the County Courthouse. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books A to P (1850-1885) and an Index to Deed and Mortgage Records (1850-1915). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 926295-926302.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

  • Revolutionary War Plaque, Huntsville, Pellissippian, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1980).

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Scott County pensioners (p. 52).]
  • War of 1812, Marshalls 5th TN Militia, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Spring 1989).

Civil War

Civil War service men from Scott County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Scott County.

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Scott County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Scott County click on the following towns: 

The following abstracts have been published:

  • Thomas, Marlene C. Some Extractions from the Scott County Newspapers Regarding Nicks Creek, Campbell County, Tennessee Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Scott County.]
  • Tennesse Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Scott County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
East Tennessee Roots
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Scott County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 D25e.
FNB Chronicle
Several genealogical and historical articles about Scott County, Tennessee have been published in FNB Chronicle, the publication of the First National Bank, who "relies heavily on the cooperation of the Scott County Historical Society as well as the recollections and keepsakes of county residents." Tables of contents to the first 20 volumes (1989-present) are available online (click FNB Chronicles category). Many of the articles have been digitized on the same site.
The Pellissippian
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Scott County, Tennessee records were published in the The Pellissippian (25 vols., 1980-2004), the quarterly of the Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society. The society has posted tables of contents for all 25 volumes on their website. They also have back issues available for purchase. The Family History Library has acquired the first 20 volumes FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 D25p.
Scott County Historical Society Newsletter
"This newsletter publishes historical and genealogical information pertaining to Scott County, Tennessee such as: lists of obituaries from church records; cemetery records; church minutes; marriages; and county court minutes, etc."
The Family History Library has volumes 1 - 16 (1983 - 1999) FHL US/CAN 976.871 D25s
Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
For additional information see the following website: http://www.tngenweb.org/scott/genealogy_societies.htm#scott_county

Prisons

Learn if your Scott County ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The original Scott County Wills Books survive, but have not been microfilmed. Scott County Historical Society has published abstracts of the early records:

Taxation

TSLA microfilmed Scott County Tax Records 1875-1972 (Rolls 197-211) and 1973-1983 (Rolls A-6088 to A-6099).

The following Scott County tax records have been abstracted and/or indexed:[8]

  • [1818] Tax List, 1818, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 14, No. 3 (Spring 1997).
  • [1861] Delinquent Polls, 1861, Districts 1 & 8, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Fall 2000).
  • [1875] Tax List, 1875, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 16, No. 2 (Winter 1998); Vol. 16, No. 3 (Spring 1999).
  • [1876, 1907-1918] Female Dog Registry, 1907-1918, 1876, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Fall 2005).
  • [1906] Delinquent Tax List, 1906, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 15, No. 1 (Fall 1997).
  • [1909] Tax Levy Committee Report, 1909, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 4 (Summer 2006).
  • [1911] Poll Tax, 1911, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Fall 1996).
  • [1915] Poll Tax List, 1915, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Winter 2002).
  • [1950] Veterans Poll Tax Receipt Book, 1950, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 9, No. 4 (Summer 1992).
  • Veterans Poll Tax Receipts, Scott County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Winter 1992).

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

The following Scott County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:

  • 1850-1919 - Scott Co, TN - Some Original Marriage Licenses & Bonds, Vol. I (1850-1919). Free Lookups Available!
  • 1854-1895 - Scott County Marriage Index 1854-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1854-1880 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.] Free Lookups Available!
  • 1851-1940 - "Scott County, Tennessee Marriages," [1851-1940] available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Abstracts names of brides and grooms as well as dates of bond, license, and/or marriage; includes scanned images of some records.]
Death

For deaths of Methodists in Scott County (or what later became Scott County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Societies and Libraries 

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Scott County Historical Society
P.O. Box 7
Huntsville, TN 37756
E-mail: scottcountyhistoricalsociety@yahoo.com

East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay Street
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org

Huntsville Public Library
314 Court House Square
Huntsville, TN 37756
Phone: 1-423-663-9230

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Scott County, Tennessee

References

  1. "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scott County, Tennessee page 643, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 643. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
  8. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 16,175 times.