Screveton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to: Screveton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Screveton St Wilfred Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1639|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1630|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
SCREVETON (St. Winifred), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Newark.
Screveton St Wilfrid is an Ancient Parish in the Rushcliffe District of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the history of the parish Screveton St Wilfrid
The Parish Church of St Wilfrid has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Screveton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SCREVETON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1651-1928 Marriages 1654-1978 Burials 1652-1980 Bishop's Transcripts 1630-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Screveton
Screveton Church - a transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1719 onwards, giving surname, given names, date of death and age at death. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 63, pages 29-32, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 22:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,055 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News